1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 with flip cover keeps getting read error.

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by pgtdrver, Oct 31, 2004.

  1. pgtdrver

    pgtdrver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just installed my flip cover and everything is put back together correctly, but my PS2 won't boot any of my games backed up or non backed up. I'v tried turning that little white disc around and trying it in different spots with no luck. Anyone know of something that may help?
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    remove the white insert out of the fliptop and use it to hold an orignal game down in the drive and boot your game with the fliptop open to see if it will boot that way if it does then try loosening or tightening the screws holding the fliptop in place(remember to put the insert back in first though) or if your fliptop came with an insert already in the fliptop then try swaping it for the orignal one out of your ps2
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]dvd loader http://members.cox.net/candrid2/index.html
    identify your ps2 version http://www.modchip.com/ps2/ps2id.htm
    using swapmagic got problem game check out http://www.swapmagicfix.com/
    ntsc/pal patch http://www.geocities.com/jayteemaster2003/[/small]
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2004
  3. pgtdrver

    pgtdrver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It still didn't boot after I removed the white circle thing from flip cover, and used it to hold down the game with lid open. :(
     
  4. zxspeky

    zxspeky Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you may have touched the laser when you were fitting the fliptop, try cleaning the laser, if it still won't work check that you haven't pulled one of the ribbon cables out without realising, check the worm drive ribbon and the laser ribbon, if either of those have come lose it will give dre's or no message and no loading as if you haven't even put a game in
     
  5. pgtdrver

    pgtdrver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I cleaned the laser and it worked. Thanks I was scared for a few mins that I might of broken something!
     
  6. playster

    playster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had the same problem...lol...and I wasn't seating the disc in the tray right...I wasn't fitting it up under the lip on the disc tray...scuffed up my SMD a little bit >.<
     
  7. zxspeky

    zxspeky Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it makes you feel a little ill when nothing you put in will work don't it LoL
     
  8. playster

    playster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh definitely...My heart sunk...I thought I had just wasted my money...:)
     
  9. steatlh

    steatlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when u use the white thing to hold down the game wiht the lid open, how do u do it.. the magnet on the white thing sticks to the other magnet and the disc doesn't move at all...
     
  10. playster

    playster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You've got the disc up on the lip of the disc tray. It spins just fine if you seat it in there right. Make sure you're disc isn't sittin up on that little lip on the left side of the tray...
     
  11. Jass

    Jass Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have this same problem, i've tried cleaning the laser, moved the little white thing around to every possible setting, and i just get DRE's, i've checked to make sure nothing is loose, it was actually working before, i just saw some place on the net on how to clean laser n stuff so i did it and now im screwed...help!
     
  12. zxspeky

    zxspeky Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you could try adjusting the tangiental scew (not sure if I spelt that right), turn the little black screw on the laser arm a fraction at a time and test each time you turn it, mark it's original position first though
     
  13. Jass

    Jass Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just fixed it :D i rubbed TCP antiseptic on the laser hard this time, and dried it off, then all i had to do was put the white spinning circle back where i first found it..works great now
     

Share This Page