1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 with Matrix Infinity 1.38(?) settings change prob

Discussion in 'PS2' started by olster, Mar 5, 2005.

  1. olster

    olster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi-
    I had a slim PS2 from HK working very nicely with the matrix infinity mod (1.38 i think). No problems whatsoever.

    Then my girlfriend discovers the modchip options menu (boot while holding down triangle & circle) and changed the video patch setting (from PAL to NTSC) leaving everything else alone.
    Now, not surprisingly, it won't play any of the backups it would before, only playing the original discs.
      Even after changing the settings back it still won't play them- pink screening after the initial blue PS2 screen.
    No matrixinfinity logo on the playstation logo anymore either.

    Anybody got any bright ideas what I could do to fix the prob?
    Hopefully just needs something simple...
    cheers-
    Olster
     
  2. panchiz

    panchiz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem. I know there 's a way to fix it, but i dunno how.
    Pls if anyone knows i need a solution!
    Tkx
     
  3. munx

    munx Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i think your best bet would be to flash the matrix infinity bios to version 1.39.
    I did it a while ago and it works just fine.

    http://www.infinitymod.com/cgi-bin/matrix/site.pl?page=chip_infinity

    theres the link to the page. pretty self explanatory.
    download the firmware burn it to cd-r using a fav program ,nero, cdrwin, etc.. put it in your ps2 and there ya go.
    the page also contains instructions on how to use your modchip.

    NOTICE!!
    On turning on the PS2 the Infinity will start to llok for the Joypad in slot 1.
    If no Joypad is present the Infinity will keep on looking for it for about 10/15 seconds.
    The screen will remain BLACK in these 15 seconds.
    After the time elapses Infinity will boot the PS2 normally.



    Boot of PS2- PS1- DVD Movies:
    Simply insert the Back-Up copy of your original game inside the PS2.
    The infinity will recognize the kind of disk you inserted and select the appropriate boot system.



    Turning Off the Infinity:
    Press start from Joypad 1 until the writing "DISABLED" will appear on screen.
    Press once reset button.
    The Ps2 will reset and the Infinity is now disabled until PS2 turned off to Standby Position.



    Fast Boot of PS2 Games:
    Press select from Joypad 1.
    PS2 Logo will be skipped and game will boot directly.



    Launching Memory card applications:
    Press Triangle from Joypad 1.



    Forcing PS1/DVD mode:
    Press the circle from Joypad 1.
    (We placed this option just in case someone need to force the PS2 to boot in PS1/DVD mode).



    Forcing Auto Mode (From V1.31)
    Press CROSS on joypad 1.
    Useful to temporarily skip the default boot mode when set to something other than AUTO.



    Loading Application in Memory Card
    To load applications in memory card and manage them you need to use the "Infinity Manager".
    Please check the "Software Upgrade" section from the Infinity product page.




    LAUNCHING MEMORY CARD APPLICATIONS:
    - Press TRIANGLE on joypad 1.
    - If installed, the Infinity Manager will appear and show a list of installed applications.
    -or-
    - Press R1 on joypad 1.
    - If installed, the default boot application (mc0:BOOT/BOOT.ELF) will be launched.




    Entering Configuration Menu:
    To enter the configuration menu press TRIANGLE + CIRCLE during PS2 Boot Up
     
  4. romero

    romero Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are you sure that your chip isn't cheap-made Matrix clone, they seems to be many cases of chip going nuts when changing settings or updating firmware.
     
  5. panchiz

    panchiz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes, may be my chip is a clone, anyway there should be some way to fix it. Dont think so?
    Tkx
     
  6. gravis

    gravis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Read this :http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/1/144974

    Same thing happened before.
     
  7. olster

    olster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Problem now solved- the hard way.
    Took the machine back to the orig shop (in Hong Kong!) and they replaced the chip (after looking blankly at it for a while).
    Working perfectly now with 1.38.

    Never quite got round to trying to update the chip...

    maybe it was and still is a clone (HK)- haven`t actually seen it, but it boots everything first time so i`m happy for the moment.
    cheers
     

Share This Page