1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps3 hdd probs

Discussion in 'PS3' started by mlep2578, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. mlep2578

    mlep2578 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have a fantom drives 3 tb external that is partitioned into 3 1tb sections the first one has movies the second has music and the last is just there well my computer will show all 3 as seprate drives of course but when i plug it in it will only read the last partition with nothing in it is there a way to change it so it can read the movie one, have all 3 read or what its driving me crazy
     
  2. KillerBug

    KillerBug Active member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You can change it so that there is a 1TB partition at the front of the drive and a 2TB partition at the end of the drive. Everything on the 2TB partition should then be usable with the PS3.
     
  3. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Are the first 2 partitions formatted under FAT32 or NTFS?
    For your PS3 to detect them they have to be FAT32.
     
  4. mlep2578

    mlep2578 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the whole setup is fat32 ths a 3tb drive but my friend split it up into 3-1 tb parts its reading drivers F:,G:,H; on my computer the labels on the hdd are MOVIES(F:) MUSIC(G:) MISC(H:) no matter if i change the letter paths it still reads the MISC drive
     
  5. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ok apparently ps3s can only read one partition from an external hdd.

    I also believe the max capacity a ps3 can read from is 2tb, if you need more oyu will need a 2nd hdd, not a 2nd partition.

    I know it sucks, but hey It Only Does Everything! Except being able to detect more than 1 partition and one more than 2tb in size.
     
  6. mlep2578

    mlep2578 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is there at least a way i can change which one is being read
     

Share This Page