1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ps3 safe mode

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by GamerRay, Jan 15, 2016.

1. GamerRay

GamerRay Newbie

What's up guys I'm a noob to this and I came across a 40 gig ps3 with the sd card reader and 4 usb...so it used to be a store display but now was inherited. The console was made to play game demos and wanted to know if I can mod it from safe mode? So I was told that the only way I can get rid of what sony put on there was to run safe mode and install a custom firmware. Can anyone help as to if this is correct or maybe someone knows another method?

2. Eisherz

Eisherz Active member

As far as I understand this you have to rebuild the official firmware to get it to install on a demo mode PS3:
    https://de.ifixit.com/Answers/View/89812/Can+I+permanently+remove+Demo+mode+from+a+Demo+PS3
    The answer by Joey Johnson has the instructions you need. I just found this via google, so I am not 100% certain it works.
    What firmware is your PS3 on? If it's on or below 3.55 don't update with anything above 3.55 ;)
    Oh, and by the way: the model version with the card reader and 4 usb instead of 2 was originally a 60GB version, one of the only two models that are able to play PS2 games.

3. GamerRay

GamerRay Newbie

So I kinda put the 4.76 on there because I was told that if I want to jailbreak it then I would have to first put an official fw then jailbreak it...is there anyway I can backtrack that?

4. Eisherz

Eisherz Active member

So, your PS3 really was on 3.55? I am just asking because 3.55 was a firmware that was fully hacked and could be jailbroken. Sony has closed the exploits with 3.56 and no exploits are known for higher firmwares. There are a few downgrading methods, but all of them are hardware-mod based, meaning you need a dongle and some more stuff.