1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS3 Swap Switch Tutorial

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by pizzag, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. pizzag

    pizzag Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK, I wanted a fairly easy way to play my PS2 backups on my
    PS3. I have read that you can do it by taking apart your PS3
    and cutting a hole in the top and yadayada. Leaving the top
    off of my PS3 to play PS2 backups didn't sound attractive to
    me. So i searched around and found a forum for PS2 talking
    about a tray switch for the fat PS2's back in the day. So i
    did some brainstorming and figured it might work. I went to
    Radio shack and purchased a 3 way toggle switch for $5. I
    highly recommend 3 way. At radio shack it was called a middle
    off switch. That way your drive motor is not constantly running.
    I came home and soldered the wires to the switch.

    A note before we start. This is a fairly easy process, the
    most trouble i had was trying to figure out where to put the
    switch. there is no room to work with. I ended up taking out
    my card reader on my PS3 because i never use it and just mounted
    the switch there. You could possibly let it hang out. It's up to
    you. Just remember that if you plan to retain original
    functionality as far as the drive sensor and automatic load/unload motor, you will need 2 additional small on/off switches.


    The Switch I purchased:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    1- Solder a wire from pin 6 to pin 1.

    [​IMG]



    2- Solder a wire from pin 3 to pin 4.

    [​IMG]


    3- Solder a RED wire to pin 4, and a BLACK wire to pin 1. This
    will be your power wires that run to your blu-ray load/unload
    motor. I'd say make the length about a foot just to be safe. You
    can cut off what you don't need later.

    [​IMG]


    4- Pin 2 and pin 5 are the power source. Doesn't matter which
    way you connect those. I'm using a plug-in power adapter with
    an output switch on it up to 12 volts. It's set at 3 volts.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    That's the hard part if you can believe it. Now you gotta bust
    open the PS3. Very easy to do and no cutting or breaking involved.

    1- Take the one bolt out on the side and slide the top off.

    2- take the rest of the screws out and take the second top off.
    This will expose the blu-ray drive.

    [​IMG]

    3- the blu-ray drive has 2 plug-ins that need to be unplugged.
    after that it comes out freely.

    A- A ribbon on the bottom

    [​IMG]

    B- A small plug-in on the left side

    [​IMG]

    Note: Your main goal is to get to some small screws on the
    bottom so that you can remove the metal cover. You may choose
    not to unplug anything. That's up to you.

    4- Take the metal top off. you will see a small circuit board
    with 2 wires towards the front of the drive. This is a sensor
    that allows the game to be sucked in. You need to disable this
    by either cutting the small wires, Hooking up another small
    switch so you still retain original functionality, or put a
    small piece of tape over the sensor.

    [​IMG]

    5- Unscrew the plastic top and take that off. This will allow
    you to see much more of the drive on the inside.

    [​IMG]

    6- The plastic piece I'm pointing to in the picture above needs
    to come off. That will allow us to see the load/unload motor.
    One small screw will allow you to remove this plastic part.

    [​IMG]

    7- Once removed you will see the small motor which is what we're
    after and makes this possible. You'll see 2 small wires soldered
    onto the motor. RED and BLACK. You have another tough choice now,
    if you chose to add a switch to the load sensor above, you will
    need to add a switch to one of the original motor wires also.
    This way, when you put your game in and the sensor sucks it in,
    the motor will work automatically like it did to start with. If
    you have the sensor turned on with a switch, you need the motor
    turned on auto with a switch. that's where the 2 additional
    switches come in if you choose to retain original functionality.
    If you plan to load and unload games manually you only need
    1 3-way switch and can disregard anything I've said about x-tra switches. The foot long wire you solder earlier to pins 4 and 1
    now need to be soldered to the RED and BLACK terminals of your
    motor. I just touched my soldering iron to the terminals and
    removed the factory wires, tucked them away and soldered the
    ones from my switch to it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    8- Now what i did was remove 3 small screws from a small circuit
    board and ran my wires underneath it. Under the circuit board
    there is a small hole that allows you to run the wire underneath
    and out the bottom front of the blu-ray drive. The board I'm
    pointing to is the one that needs to be unscrewed. It doesn't
    come off all the way but does enough for you to run wire under
    it. When you put the screws back in make sure not to tighten
    them down too much. just make them snug and make sure the small
    switch on the right side of the board is in the proper place.

    [​IMG]

    9- And that's pretty much it. Where you plan to mount the switch
    or switches is up to you. the way i have mine set up is when the
    switch is up the motor is sucking in. I start to put a game in
    and it sucks it in. When the game is in and the drive engaged
    i turn the switch to the middle position or off. turn on the
    PS3 and the original game or Swap Magic will register with the
    xmb. No need to actually boot the original game or swap magic
    because as long as the game is recognized by the system, it has
    passed any media checks. Next, I flip my switch down and the drive disengages and spits my game out. I then flip the switch back up
    and insert my backup and turn the switch off. The whole time you
    do the swap, the PS3 will still say you have a game inserted. So
    if you choose to try this, you don't need anything special. 1-3 switches and an original PS2 game This is my first tutorial and
    I'm sorry if it's bad. Feel free to redo it and repost it.
    All i ask is that you don't try and take credit for what i've done. Other than that enjoy, be careful, and have fun.

    PS: for my next trick i will get a PS3 backup that fits on a DVD
    and insert my original blu-ray PS3 game and then see if i can swap
    it with a PS3 game on a DVD!!!
    I have a 60gb U.S. PS3 running Firmware 1.51.
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2007
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Pretty good!
  4. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    cool...
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2007
  5. pizzag

    pizzag Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thank you, much appreciated. I'm not sure how to resize the pics. They are way to big as is though


    Nevermind, I figured it out.
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2007
  6. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No prob..
  7. pizzag

    pizzag Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well i tried burning a PS3 iso to DVD and it burned ok. I swapped it out with my original but it wouldn't boot. I'm thinking it didn't work because it was in blu-ray mode. Sure makes me wish i had a blu-ray burner. Anyone know what they cost nowadays? I'm fairly confident that if it was on a blu-ray disc the sucker would have booted, but i have no way to back that theory up.
  8. alinares

    alinares Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    blue ray burners run about.....600 bucks check it out at sony.com and my bro told me like every blue ray disc is like 15-25 bucks each.
  9. SkippyM

    SkippyM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what id advise is to just keep your old ps2 with your swap magic boot disc and slide tool and so on, im still playing god of war 2 on it, and have a ps3. i wouldent even risk unscrewing a screw on a ps3, to expensive and WERE NOT WORTHY OF SEEING THE BRILLENT TECHNOLOGY, lol
  10. Chaos_

    Chaos_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Pioneer(sp?) is releasing a Blu-ray drive (that can write 5x single layer, 2x dl) for 299 in june. (it also reads/writes dvds)
  11. realTNT

    realTNT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes, I have a question for the person that made the main discovery.. I have question on it... mainly to ask if I can pay you to do this or something because I manage to screw stuff up like that. anyway, is there someway to contact you?
  12. Andrew691

    Andrew691 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The new Pioneer drive is a BD-ROM drive ie no write functions.
  13. pizzag

    pizzag Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16


    You can contact me at my email address. pizzaguy_53548. Not sure if it's against the rules to post email but it's a yahoo account if that helps.
  14. Andrew691

    Andrew691 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yes is it against the rules to post email addresses, use this sites PM feature instead.
  15. pizzag

    pizzag Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Alright, thank you for clarifying.
  16. profycy

    profycy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    impressed, if only you could make a loader!
  17. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Stickied for a couple of days since it is making it's rounds on the net via other news sites....although I think it is total BS that what that site has done.

    Real nice way to show what kind of place they have there, steal other peoples intellectual information and claim it as their own. What a bunch of fake, lame....you know what I'll let you fill in the blanks.
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2007
  18. Kafluke

    Kafluke Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    This is great but can't you take better pics? Borrow a friends camera or something cause those pics are giving me a head ache! LOL

    Great job pizzag!
  19. kaosX

    kaosX Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    funny to see this posted as maxconsole news.

    nice job though :D
  20. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    And unlike most "other" sites claiming to have this and that.. This actually works...
  21. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    And unlike most "other" sites claiming to have this and that.. This actually works...Great Job!


    "sorry double post"

    OMG!!.. I found the thiefs that took this idea and gives no credit... It aight I said what I had to say..then was banned..go figure...lol.. That makes my 5th ban and final ban... Anyway..
    Last edited: May 15, 2007

Share This Page