1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

psp 1.50 firmware

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by ragingd, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. ragingd

    ragingd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a original psp w/1.50 firmware. I got the psp when it first came out. I want to upgrade it to the cfw. I wanted to know what exactly I have to do to upgrade it. Do I need to create a pandoras battery? Im confused in the steps I should take. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. hoip

    hoip Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. Rogdrik

    Rogdrik Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Here is a simpler guide...and after you are done with that ill give you the other thing you need to have the latest custom firmware out there
     
  4. ragingd

    ragingd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the help. If I wanted to downgrade back to the 1.50 firmware, how would I do this? Do I need a pandoras battery? I hear about it alot do I need it? Thanks again for the help.
     
  5. Rogdrik

    Rogdrik Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Your welcome

    you can just recover your psp to 1.50 with this HERE
     
  6. bigcuz000

    bigcuz000 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    But if you do have a spare battery and memory stick it wouldnt hurt to make a pandoras battery. That way u could help yourself if u needed it or you could help someone in need. If and when you have spare time and the spare equipment check out this thread
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/580254

    Good Luck
     
  7. ragingd

    ragingd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So do I create the pandoras battery first than upgrade to the cfw? I just want to get everything right before I do anything? Thanks for everything.
     
  8. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Update to custom firmware first- 1.50>3.52M33-4>3.71M33-4...Make battery later...
     
  9. ragingd

    ragingd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks. One more question before I try this. I have a 4gb memory stick. Should I use this to load the cfw or buy another one?
     
  10. Feenix888

    Feenix888 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It is possible to use a 4g card, I used a 4g. If & when you decide to create a Pandora Battery + MMS - i would probaly suggest a smaller memory card.
     
  11. ragingd

    ragingd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What size do you suggest?
     
  12. Feenix888

    Feenix888 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well i use a Lexar 512mb Gaming edtion. I only use it for the MMS stick though and does not have any games ,files etc other than what is required for the Pandora set-up.

    Choice is yours really, but for me i cannot see the point of a 4g card for a pandora set-up.
     
  13. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I agree-a 512MB is sufficent for a pandora setup, anything higher is a waste, unless you have extra utilities you use regularly.
     
  14. Rogdrik

    Rogdrik Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    But using a 256Mb will be fine as well right?...just wondering...
     
  15. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You can go as low as 128MB for a barebones Pandora/DCv3 setup and have room for a few updates/patches that you could apply manually..You wouldnt be able to run like a UPMS setup or anything, but its certainly good for the basics...
     
  16. Rogdrik

    Rogdrik Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Man..!!..deez_nuts the UPMS installer is taking for ever man...can i stop it..and try Unviversal unbricker?
     
  17. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ^^What are you hung up on? The installation of the files, etc?
    You can stop it if need be-you'll just have to start over from the beginning with the memory stick part.
     
  18. ragingd

    ragingd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey Rogdrik,
    Thanks for the help. I have a couple of questions. Do I need to create the game150 folder? Also I dont understand the mso:/psp? Sorry Im new to this. Thanks fo any help
     
  19. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ^^if you are using 1.50 firmware-yes, you will have to create a GAME150 folder (make sure its in CAPS)

    ms0:/ = Memory Stick Root (or the topmost folder you see when you hook your psp up to the computer)

    So if something calls for putting a folder in the GAME folder, it will usually be represented as "ms0:/PSP/GAME/Your Folder Here/"
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2008
  20. Rogdrik

    Rogdrik Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

    I stopped it where it said it was renaming 1.50 and 3.71 to UPDATE.PBP

    if its just gonna do that than can't i just rename them before the installation..?

    @ragingd

    just like dEEz_nUtz said...you do have to make one it will be ms0:/PSP/GAME150

    right next to the PHOTO folder and the SAVEDATA folder..;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2008

Share This Page