1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

psp cso help

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by gadgeman, Mar 23, 2007.

1. gadgeman

gadgeman Member

Can anyone help me? My son has a psp with 2.6 firmware, how can he play a cso file?

2. gasconade

gasconade Regular member

I would downgrade to 1.50 then upgrade to 3.03 OE-C...this allows you to run ISOs & CSOs from your XMB Menu...

along with the capibility to run homebrew, you also get a recovery menu with OE-C...making it almost impossible to brick your psp...

first step, figure out what kind of motherboard you have(TA-082/non TA-082....and I can get you a downgrader link for your sons 2.60 psp...

3. gadgeman

gadgeman Member

Looked in the usb drive and there isn't any writing, does this mean that it isn't a TA-082? Whats a xmb menu? Sorry your helping a complete novice here!

4. Vaindetta

Vaindetta Regular member

Welcome to the Community!

Your best bet is searching for answers here on the boards before making a new thread.

XMB refers to the memory stick. In the PSP's Interface you can navigate through your Memory Stick to play games. And if you see no writing inside the UMD tray, like this, then you have an original TA-079 Board. The TA-082+ boards require being patched before you alter the firmware, else they will brick.

The CSO's are Compressed versions of an ISO. An ISO is the exact Copy of the UMD Data in one file. These can be pretty large and require a high capacity Mem stick. I recommend a 4GB, some games vary from 100MB to 1.5GB.

Last edited: Mar 23, 2007
  5. shadow270

shadow270 Guest

u should upgrade to 2.80 and from there on use the easy downgrader to 1.5
    once ure on 1.5 u should upgrade to 3.03 OE or 3.10 OE
    u can find all the needed files on www.qj.net or www.psp-hack.com
    make sure u read the readmes that come with the downgrader/upgraders..u dont want to brick ur psp do u...