1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSP Freezes

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by ucfmoe, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. ucfmoe

    ucfmoe Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a PSP running 3.71m33-2 and it seems like lately a lot of my games just freeze up in the middle of game play. Can anybody think of any reason as to why this would happen?

    Thanks
     
  2. sn0wman1

    sn0wman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    have you turned up your cpu speed to 333
     
  3. gatorxeon

    gatorxeon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have exactly the same problem, umd/homebrew/cso files block all the time on 2.71 m33-2, even with cpu in game on 333

    i hope there is a solution for this...
     
  4. nethanel

    nethanel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How do you turn the cpu speed to 333?
     
  5. sn0wman1

    sn0wman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what firmware are you on. If its 3.52m33 press home while on xmb if its 3.71m33 press select while on xmb you will find it in there
     
  6. nethanel

    nethanel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Im on 3.71 M33-2. got to the screen turned both the cpu clock xmb and cpu clock game to 333/166, syphon filter still goes black after sony entertainment comes up.
     
  7. gatorxeon

    gatorxeon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've been looking all over the net, and there are a lot of psp users how have the same problem...
    there must be some sort of a giant bug into the system that it freezes the whole d*mn thing.

    my guess?
    i think it's something with memory card. u see, cso files are on mem card, as well as the save file of your game, so the psp constantly needs to read data from the stick, and maybe it gets overloaded?
     
  8. chwoolgar

    chwoolgar Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Have you disabled the 3 options in the advanced menu inside recovery mode?
     
  9. gatorxeon

    gatorxeon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i only see 2 options in the advanced menu:
    -plain modusles in umd/....
    -execute BOOT.BIN in....

    and yes, both are disabled.
     
  10. mdsn

    mdsn Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i think it on your memorystick... maybe its fake.. because i tried 3.71m33-2 and its good..
     
  11. nethanel

    nethanel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have no idea why, but metal gear solid works now, syphon filter still wont work "bought" 3 copies, all hang after sony comes up.
     
  12. sn0wman1

    sn0wman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    have you shortened it and put cso at the end of it like sfls.cso
     
  13. nethanel

    nethanel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah, now only syphon does not work. Cant be a bad download cause i tried 3 copies all have the same prob. Its strange that every other game i have works tho
     
  14. chwoolgar

    chwoolgar Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Why would you change the filename to cso if it is not a compressed file?

    I have heard that a lot of people have had problems with syphon filter
     
  15. sn0wman1

    sn0wman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have had no problems with mine. how big is the game ive heard people saying the 850mb version is no good. mine is 600mb and called W1-sfls.cso try that
     
  16. gatorxeon

    gatorxeon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    problem solved :)

    successfully played gta lc without crashing :) woohoo!
     
  17. icevenom

    icevenom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i seem to be having this problem aswell...

    i remember reading about some freeze due to going to sleep mode and returning?... unrelated?

    either way, i have manually set my CPU clock to 333, will see if any freezes return.

    i had the freeze happen witht he GOW demo and SNES emulator...
     
  18. Rogdrik

    Rogdrik Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thats a bug just reisntall the 1.5 kernel nut the second version the first one has that BUG

    get the second version for 1.5 kernel here

    1.50 Kernel Addon V2
     

Share This Page