1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

psp will not read disc - psp bad? please help!

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by haeffnkr, Oct 17, 2006.

1. haeffnkr

haeffnkr Member

I have searched for my problem but could not find it...sorry I am kind of new with all this.

I had bought a new psp a month ago, for my 13 year old son.
    It was a 2.01 psp that was upgraded to 2.71 then downgraded to 1.5, then devhook .46 was installed. All was working fine for 3 weeks, new game discs would play, sample disk would play on 1.5 firmware, isos would play - until yesterday when it keep getting "the disc could not be read" error, when trying to boot the sample disc that came with the psp bundle, and a mvp baseball disc. He says he did nothing, turned it off, then the next time it gave the error.

After rebooting it 20 times it finally read the disc and started up with out issue, I rebooted it again 3 times and it would not fail, then after playing it a couple hours, being turned off again, it would not start up - same error. Devhook boots fine and if you try to run an iso - it will not start and give the error "the disc cannot be started the region code is not correct"

It will not read the sample disc in 1.5 mode with the memory card in or out.

So...is the disc drive bad or do I need to try flashing up to 2.0 or 2.71 and then back to 1.5 or what?
    Is it possible that the firmware is corrupt and that is causing the disc read errors?

any help would be appreciated!
    I really need a starting place here, or take the darn thing back to the store.
    thanks Kevin
  2. AfterDawn

AfterDawn Advertisement

3. haeffnkr

haeffnkr Member

Sorry - forgot to add that both discs were verified good, by playing then in a buddies unmodded psp running 2.6 firmware.

thanks again!
  4. hexitnow

hexitnow Active member