1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSP Wireless connection problem

Discussion in 'Sony Handhelds' started by swilde68, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. swilde68

    swilde68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi All
    I am new to this website so please be gentle.

    I have just setup a wireless network at home with WEP security. When I open the internet browser on the PSP it finds my network with 95% signal. It also detects that WEP security is applied. I add the 10 character password for the WEP security and I get an error message stating that the characters entered are not valid.

    Please help!
     
  2. chwoolgar

    chwoolgar Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Try re-entering, make sure it is perfect - Capital or Lower case letters etc
     
  3. kvsingh

    kvsingh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what router u using?

    try this:
    1)go to your router settings and create a wep key manually rather than generating one from keyword.(be careful to only use the letters and numbers you are limited to. eg your router might only let you use a-k and numbers 1-5). Then try that wep key.
    2)if it still dont work, try to remove any encryption on your router, i mean no wep key or any other key.
     
  4. swilde68

    swilde68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks
    I have been told that the PSP only uses hexidecimal eg 0-9, a-f and A-F. Therefore my passphrase is ok for the computer but not ok for the PSP.
    Does this mean I have to re-install the router and setup a new password?
     
  5. chwoolgar

    chwoolgar Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just log into your router and change password

    2 min job
     
  6. swilde68

    swilde68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for all the info, but still no joy.
    I have reset the router and assigned a number only, 10 digit WEP passphrase.
    Again, it works for the PC but not on the PSP.

    Pulling my hair out!
     
  7. chwoolgar

    chwoolgar Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Does it still say security not supported on the PSP?
    What firmware have you got?
     
  8. hockeyfan

    hockeyfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just log into your router and change password

    2 min job




    Hey how would you do that? I recently got a PSP, and we have a wireless router for my dads laptop, but all the other computers in the house run through the CAT5 chords. When I try to do the "Network Update" I have to make a new connection so I follow what I do know which is...

    1.Click New Connection
    2.Scan(meaning the PSP will scan for something called the SSID from the access point(I guess that means the router?)
    3.After I click scan it shows my linksys router connection with Security WPA-PSK(TKIP) I have no idea what that means. And 90% signal strength.
    4.After I click that a line comes up that has SSID and below that it says "linksys_SES_2685"
    5. I click right to continue and then it takes me to the WLAN Security Setting and has a list of None,WEP,WPA-PSK(TKIP), and WPA-PSK(AES) The choice of "WPA-PSK(TKIP)" already highlighted, so again I press right to continue
    6.Now its asking me to enter WPA Key, and I have no idea what that is.

    Is this because I have security on my wireless router?

    I'd appreciate the help. Thanks guy!
     
  9. chwoolgar

    chwoolgar Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    it is because your wireless is security enabled. If you log any of the computers that are wired to the wireless router of any of the PC's that connect to the internet using the wireless and click start>run type "CMD" a blank screen comes up

    Then type ipconfig/all

    pm me what ip addresses it has here and i will point out the router, it will be something like 192.168.0.1

    Type the address into your browser, you will then be able to log into your router. This is where the code / password will be shown.
     
  10. hockeyfan

    hockeyfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok thanks alot man! I'll pm you with that info. Just gimme a few minutes
     

Share This Page