1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSTwo purchased .. but stuck .. swapmodding questions

Discussion in 'PS2' started by digitalep, Dec 29, 2004.

1. digitalep

digitalep Guest

Ok, so I just got my grimey little hands on a PSTwo finally, and I do not want to put a modchip in this lil guy, but I do want to play backups. So far I see 2 solutions based around the Swap Magic discs. There's the Ghost Switch and the Magic Switch. From what I gather, the Magic Switch doesn't require any opening of the console, whereas the Ghost Switch does.

I am really new to the PS2 modding world so I am not all that clear on how all this works. I am reading up on a bunch of Memory Card exploit stuff. Is it possible, if I am able to load my own save games to a card from a PC (i have a maxdrive USB memory card), would I be able to load a version of swap magic to it and launch it via a PS1 original?

Is there a better option (not a modchip) for me as a PSTwo owner. I guess any and all info on what you guys would do with a PSTwo in my situation would be VERY much appreciated. Help mold some knowledge. :)

2. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

Yes, there is a better solution, the modified pstwo fliptop they are now selling. With this, you can let the ps2 know you opened the top, or not let it know.

3. digitalep

digitalep Guest

that requires voiding warrenty though correct? i am a bit worried about voiding the warrenty due to reports of lasers crapping out.

4. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

i'm not totally sure, but i think you can pop off the original lid and put the fliptop on without opening the ps2. Check around or start a new thread on this.

5. Ludikhris

Ludikhris Guest