1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSTwo V12 Not Fully Booting - Help Needed

Discussion in 'PS2' started by BlueAlaya, Dec 4, 2004.

1. BlueAlaya

BlueAlaya Member

Hello!

Thankyou for reading this post.

I've been installing Mod-Chips for a while without any problems. I've done maybe 15 psx/ps2/xbox mods without any major problems. This is my first attempt at a V12 PS2.

I installed the Ghost 2 only to find that when I put it all back together, and plugged it in, it wouldn't boot. The red light comes on when I plug the DC cable in, and when I hit the reset button it turns green for 3-4 seconds or so, but then it turns back to red.

I've been working on this for hours; I desoldered the chip from the board, and removed as much solder from all of the points that I could. Nada. I searched the whole bottom of the board over, inch by inch, removing any specs of dust, solder, etc. I cleaned the chip leg as thoroughly as I possibly could, sliding a razor down between the soldered chip leg and the adjacent one, and making sure the contact was clean at the top of the chip by scraping some kynar 30 in between the legs. Still, nothing. There appear to be no shorts on the board. I've been staring at it, less soldering time, for 4-5 hours now, and I'm ready to throw it out and go buy a new one for the guy whom I'm doing this for.

I can hear power in the board. When I start it up, the pitch goes up a few octives, then makes a distorting sound, then drops back down when the light turns red again. Nothing comes up on the screen -- it doesn't flicker or anything.

Any suggestions as to points that I should examine. Any suggestions AT ALL would be more than greatly appreciated, as I'm totally stumped, and getting a tad bit frustrated (and it takes a lot to frustrate me).

Thanks in advance,

Alaya

2. Tcosta

Tcosta Member