1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

psx backup not working

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by fates_eye, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. fates_eye

    fates_eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used nero to backup ffvi (psx version) and it won't load when i use breaker pro, epsxe runs the iso fine so I'm lost. I'm using maxell cds, is that the issue? Any help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Xomby

    Xomby Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    1. maxell certainly isnt the best media to use, so that could be the issue, however its a psx backup and i have burned them at 48x with no issues, though when using on a ps2 could cause problems (on ps1 runs fine).

    2. ps2 lasers are VERY iffy when it comes to ps1 games in general. I have an original copy of DBZ (dead ball zone, not dragon ball z), that loads up fine, then begins to "lose its memory" by forgetting what text and graphics are supposed to appear in the menus. some games just refuse to boot up, others run very slowly, and others are perfectly fine (ala GTA 1 original).

    what version ps1/ps2 are you using? is your breaker pro a copy or an original disc, and is your ps1/ps2 modded or not?
     
  3. fates_eye

    fates_eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm using a ps2 slimline with the swap magic/breaker pro boot discs and magic keys installed. Breaker Pro is original and new. I'm able to run a backup of ffiv (psx ver) flawlessly but I burnt it a while back (can't recall if I used nero but I'm pretty sure my method was the same) but it's on a sony cd-r. When I try ffvi breaker pro freezes at booting cdr, and the disc spins infinitely. In case my method is wrong, since I have made many coasters so far by using it :
    Nero, the burn data disc mode, and make udf/iso mode (are they essentially the same?), with all the default settings (level1, mode1, standard iso) 40x, and 4x, and the file format is an .img
    Is there a better method/program for burning the backup, I would just clone it but I lost the original disc and only have the .img on hd.
     
  4. Xomby

    Xomby Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ive heard of some issues with slimline's and breaker pro, but only random rumors.

    No problems there.
    Nero is fine, data disc mode is fine, you want to use the data mode: mode 2/xa setting, and burn it at half the rated max of your discs using "disc at once" setting.
    make sure to "finalize" the cd, although this has never seemed to be an issue, you never know with the slimlines ;]=
     
  5. fates_eye

    fates_eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, it must have been Nero, it was an older version too. I mounted the image with Daemon Tools, then I just copied it with alcohol 120% under playstation preset and it works fine. Thanks for the help anyhow.
     

Share This Page