1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSX/PS2 Self Booting Copies

Discussion in 'PS2' started by zamsak, Mar 21, 2003.

  1. zamsak

    zamsak Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did anyone try this? If anyone has got the tools/pictures or knows where they can be found ar even just knows the name just post it here on the forum

    Zamsak
     
  2. zamsak

    zamsak Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

    PSX & PS2 SELF BOOT COPY

    · ***NEW*** PSX/PS2 Self-Booting COPIES !: Finally I decided to release the knowledge & tools you need to make your PSX/PS2 CDR copies bootable !!
    Yes it is VERY possible to avoid the bootcd and the bootchip altogether. After all the BEST way to boot a copy is if it's NOT a copy ;)
    This tutorial will walk you through the 'tedious' steps of properly 'extracting' & combining the PSX/PS2 boot files & the game. This tutorial DOES NOT cover DVDR copies !
    Be for warned this is VERY 'tedious' and MUST be done with EACH copy you wish to boot (ie - it's easier to use the bootcd).
    · You CANNOT do this without my 'PSX Tools Zip' Download Tools

    · STEP 1: Create the following directory: C:\TEMP\PSX
    · STEP 2: Startup CDRWIN and choose "extract disc/track/sectors" from the options.
    · STEP 3: Configure CDRWIN 'Exactly' as it is in this picture.
    · STEP 4: You MUST extract EACH of the 16 sectors that are bootable SEPERATLY and name them as such - S1, S2, S3 ect. or the merge will NOT work !!
    · Use the table below along with the CDRWIN Setting picture to correctly extract the sectors.
    The process of extraction MUST be as follows:
    Sectors From & To Name Directory
    000000-000000 S1 C:\TEMP\PSX\S1
    000001-000001 S2 C:\TEMP\PSX\S2
    000002-000002 S3 C:\TEMP\PSX\S3
    000003-000003 S4 C:\TEMP\PSX\S4
    000004-000004 S5 C:\TEMP\PSX\S5
    000005-000005 S6 C:\TEMP\PSX\S6
    000006-000006 S7 C:\TEMP\PSX\S7
    000007-000007 S8 C:\TEMP\PSX\S8
    000008-000008 S9 C:\TEMP\PSX\S9
    000009-000009 S10 C:\TEMP\PSX\S10
    000010-000010 S11 C:\TEMP\PSX\S11
    000011-000011 S12 C:\TEMP\PSX\S12
    000012-000012 S13 C:\TEMP\PSX\S13
    000013-000013 S14 C:\TEMP\PSX\S14
    000014-000014 S15 C:\TEMP\PSX\S15
    000015-000015 S16 C:\TEMP\PSX\S16

    NOTE 1: These first sixteen blocks of the PSX/PS2 disc are the "boot" blocks. This is WHY these must be extracted one at a time & separated from the game during extraction.
    NOTE 2: The rest of the data is what we NOW extract as the 'game' (see instructions below). I told you this was VERY tedious !!!
    · STEP 5:Now to extract the rest of the CD (the game) without the boot-sectors !
    Now the games sectors vary from CD to CD so each CD NEEDS to be 'tested' before extraction, so that we know what the ending sectors are.
    Open CDRWIN and choose 'backup disc' and just leave everything on default. You can name it ANYTHING during this test and press the 'START' button. It will give you a message like this.
    For that disc the ENDING sector is '066120'. Now setup CDRWIN the way you had it set to extract the 16 boot sectors BUT this time for the sector range put: 000016-066120.
    NOTE: Every game will start with 000016 but as I said the END will be different so don't put in 066120 unless that what it is ! Make sure you the name this file GAME so it will be (C:\TEMP\PSX\GAME.BIN)
    · STEP 6: Now if you have done everything correctly, you should have a total of 17 files. That includes; the 16 boot sectors which SHOULD be named 'S1-S16' and the game ISO which should be named 'game.bin' See Picture.
    Copy the files 'boot.bat' and 'boot.cue' (that were in the PSX Copy tools Zip) into that directory.
    Now run the boot.bat file (this may take sometime so be patient) and if it's working you'll see this See Picture.
    · STEP 7:OK if you named everything correctly and followed my instructions there should have been a file called 'boot.bin' produced !
    Time to load up the 'boot.cue' & burn it with CDRWIN onto a blank CDR, the ONLY setting you'll need to do with CDRWIN is make sure the 'RAW' mode button is checked before burning.
    · NOTE: NOT all burners support the RAW mode burning option, if yours doesn't YOU'LL NEED to find a program that supports your burner in RAW (DAO) mode, Alternatives are Fire Burner OR Blind Write.
    That's it, now you will have a FULLY BOOTABLE PSX/PS2 CDR COPY !!!
    · STEP 8 (Imports): Simply making a self boot copy still won't defeat the Regional Lockout protection. This can simply be done by changing the country code, use a regional tool to change alter it.
    FOLLOW the same steps, except before you run the boot.bat file USE the regional tool on the 'game.bin' file. Then not only will your IMPORT boot, it'll play on a console it was NEVER MADE FOR !
    You can get a good regional tool from this link. Download Regional Tool


     
  3. zamsak

    zamsak Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Downloaded it from KaZaA. Mail me if you want the original document. Specify your email address.

    Zamsak
    zamsak@yahoo.com
     
  4. j2huggar

    j2huggar Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    personally I believe that this is a waste of time. I've always been under the assumtion (this could be true or not true) that the reason you can't copy games is because of the bar code near the center of the CD/DVD. maybe not too though.
     
  5. zamsak

    zamsak Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have even heard of combinig some SSX demo cd and the game you want to backup and then it works without a modchip. Can someone please tell me the whole process
     
  6. newbee101

    newbee101 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HAHAHAHAHAHA NOW I KNOW ITS FAKE!!!!!
     
  7. Temp2

    Temp2 Guest

    HAHAHAHAHAH if you had to know that to know it was fake you are brilliant. Zamsak if you ever download a tutorial and there is an attachment or there is an executable/batch, be VERY CAUTIOUS. "If it sounds too good to be true..."
     
  8. Dills2214

    Dills2214 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it probably is!!!

    It also probably has a little friend that comes with it called a virus.
     
  9. zamsak

    zamsak Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did anyone try the method I hosted?
    Well as for the virus - who cares. I think there are probably a dozen viruses in my comp now. I never install an antivirus as they slow down your PC
     
  10. Dills2214

    Dills2214 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    slow down? yeh if your running a P2 200mhz...
    running norton in the background and its fine. The spyware and virus's...trojans will slow you down more then NAV software will....
     
  11. satan!

    satan! Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dills2214

    Its not suprising with your comp spec. Some of us aint that lucky....
     
  12. Dills2214

    Dills2214 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    regardless, antivirus protection is important....

    Just an opinion....

    I am a computer tech, I see the virus's everday so i think i just have a strong opinion of it...
     
  13. newbee101

    newbee101 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    YO MAN ITS A [bold]FAKE!!!![/bold]
     
  14. Dills2214

    Dills2214 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  15. Dills2214

    Dills2214 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wait you mean it really doesnt work???

    FLIP TOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  16. zamsak

    zamsak Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for telling me that it is fake. Anyway satan! is right you have got a really great config but all others don't. I have got P4 1.7 Ghz 512 Mb ram 40 Gb hdd 64 Mb Vram. But I still ti=hink antiviruses are junk. It they delete you data. No matter I have my backups and I am capable of reloading the OS
     

Share This Page