1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quality loss with Shrink? Yea or Nay

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by dbw9, Sep 17, 2004.

1. dbw9

dbw9 Member

I wasa wondering what the Quality loss is from using Shrink. I am quite pleased with most of my back-up (also a noob), but I think I see a bit of quality loss . Is this my imagination or what. What setting should I be on to obtain the highest quality?
    Thanks

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Last edited: Sep 17, 2004
  3. dbw9

dbw9 Member

I'm very new to this, but have backed up 10 or so disc's so far. The first ones I attempted to re-author ended up with sub titles included and NO audio on some of the extra features at the end that I left on. How can I determine what the extra features are, ie: titles etc. I know what the main movie will entail, but what about sub-titles, and some of the audio settings. What should I keep and what should I delete? Should I keep ALL the English audio?
    Anyway thanks for your help so far......Oh yea,
    I'm using Maxell DVD+R,(these work excellent in my burner), which reads Ritek R02-01 on DVD decrypter. Do they (Ritek)sell this with tis # or is it just Ritek DVD+R?
    Thanks again
    Don

4. Nephilim

Reathoring with Shrink can be a bit confusing at first. Here are some rough rules I follow but keep in mind that most DVD's will be different in what audio and subtitle tracks they contain.

For a straight movie only copy it's pretty easy to pare down what audio you want to keep. I only speak English and foul language so all foreign tracks get removed. After that I'm usually left with several English audio tracks that may or may not include 2-channel, Dolby Didital 5.1 or DTS. Depending on your sound system you can decide which one to keep.

DTS If you don't have a DTS capable sound system you can ditch it since DTS takes up more space than the other audio tracks.