1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quality of Pioneer A06 recording.

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by VinylPush, Sep 24, 2003.

  1. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Has anyone a link to a review site that has done a quality test on DVD-R's recorded by a Pioneer A06/106?

    I'd like to determine if there are any meaningful quality improvements when recording at lower speeds using 4X media, especially if there are detectable differences between burning at 1X as opposed to 2X.

    I want to archive a few things for posterity, so quality is paramount. I don't want to have to spend a whole week burning discs at 1X if I don't have to!
     
  2. Tosca

    Tosca Guest

    From what I have seen of reviews of dvd burners they don't do that stuff. They do a few benchmark tests and call it a day. Hell they don't even get into media that it takes leading to many a frustrating burn.

    No reason why a 4x burned disc is any shoddier than a 1x disc. Use quality media and you wouldn't have to throttle it down to 1x IMHO.
     
  3. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Tosca,

    4X burns are more liable to jitter and correctable errors. The thing with these minor and unnoticable errors is that it shortens the overall lifetime of the recorded data. In short, it takes fewer defects from the media degrading naturally over time to make the data unreadable.

    I have a Pioneer A05 currently, and I know for a fact that it does not have the error correcting capabilities of the A06 (which has Defect Management).

    I'm considering purchasing an A06 for the PC, and using the A05 in a 1:1 standalone copier. It's either that, or buy and build yet another PC. I already have 3 in the room. It's already pretty warm in here, I kid you not.

    I have data I need to keep for a while and I don't trust tape drives (which are anyway too expensive) and hard drives are a bit difficult to store in disc-wallets ;-)
     
  4. Mulox

    Mulox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    VinylPush, what kind of speeds are you getting when burning a full 4.3gb disc? In other words, how long does it take you to burn a 4x disc vs. a 2x or 1x disc?

    Also, what is your config? i.e. OS, cpu speed, ram, software used for burning, etc.?
     
  5. Tosca

    Tosca Guest

    I also have a pioneer 105 and have never had any probs burning at 4x. No edge probs, no pixelation. Nothing. Works fine at 4x provided you get decent media. I wouldn't worry henny penny-like over a few archived projects. If they are that precious then it would be wise to just re-archive them yearly onto new discs.
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    15 minutes at 4x, 28 at 2x, and way too long at 1x.
     
  7. Mulox

    Mulox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    4x takes me 40 minutes and 1x is 50 minutes both using Nero 5.5 fully patched. Pioneer 105 is using v1.33 firmware. =(

    Never tested 2x.
     
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    your computer is either too slow or you don't have enough memory to burn at 4x.
     
  9. Mulox

    Mulox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope, got plenty of juice:

    AMD 2800+ XP 333Mhz Barton
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe Nforce2
    Maxtor 200gb ATA133 7200rpm 8mb cache
    512mb (2x256 dual mode) Corsair Platinum Ultra 2-2-2
    WinXP Pro SP1
    Nero 5.5.10.28
    Pioneer DVR-105, firmware v1.33

    At first I thought it might be the media, since this is my first time trying to burn at 4x, but I tried 3 different manufacturers (Sky, Princo, and Ritek) and got the same results using Nero, as well as DVD Shrink. I am so frustrated!
     
  10. TL0

    TL0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    VinylPush, the Pioneer 106 only uses the Defect management for DVD-RW discs, not DVD-/+R discs.

    'Supposed that a DVD-RW disc is defected in some areas. Upon first encountering a problem area (e.g..fingerprint) the drive searches for the next rewritable area. In future instances when the media is used, drives/players will automatically skip the problem area. The defect management system is based on the UDF 2.00 file system'

    This is from the review of the Pioneer 106 on www.cdrinfo.com which describes the DRT-DM feature. For normal DVD-R discs, it's not much different from the A05/105.

    If the data is important to you, 2X burning is likely to be slow enough. From my personal testing on Ritek & Arita 4x media, PI/PO error rates don't decrease burning at 1x compared to 2x, infact they seemed slightly higher :(

    The more important factor seems to be quality of the blank media you choose. Taiyo Yuden/ Mitsubishi Chemical Corp (Verbatim) or Pioneer are good choices for top of the range media which gives consistent low PI/PO error rates.
     
  11. veryhappy

    veryhappy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I bought this recorder about ten days ago.

    The most interesting fact was that recording "LG DVD-R 4x" at 2x-4x speed was perfect, tested in nero dvd speed.

    however, while 2x recording was perfectly read by the DVD-reader KISS-500, 4x recording couldn't been read correctly, it just was capable of reading only 4/5 frames per second.

    this recorder however seems to be very very good :)
     
  12. joblow

    joblow Guest

    MULOX

    I had the same problem as you a few days back, my a-05 couldn't burn at 4x with 4x media and I also tried different brands. But just before I burnt my first 4x media I had upgraded(I shouldn't) from fw 1.00 to 1.33(officia FW). My burner wasn't able to burn at 4x. So downgraded my fw back to 1.00 and now my burner can burn at 4x.
     
  13. Mulox

    Mulox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I dunno joblow... I tried to burn in 4x prior to flashing the firmware to 1.33 and Nero would not even properly recognize my media as 4x until after went to 1.33. What software are you using to burn, what OS do you have? I did not mean to take this thread off topic, so I have started a new topic here:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/50616

    Please go there to reply, so we don't offend VinylPush... thanks.
     
  14. veryhappy

    veryhappy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    NOTE: i didn't say my DVR106 CAN'T write 4x.

    Instead it writes 4x VERY WELL.

    The only problem is that when I burn LG 4x media at 4x, the KISS DP500 (but not pc dvd readers!!) doesn't read it well.

    My xbox reads 4x dvds correctly.
     
  15. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To the guys using 4X media without much success: Use Ritek media!

    If it isn't Ritek, it isn't worth it. Trust me on this! Ritek media is down to 94p per disc, so there's no excuse.

    Someone asked my config: Athlon 1900XP, 512MB RAM, fast hard drives (4 x IBM 40G + 2 x 120G Seagate in a networked machine). Plenty for most stuff ;)
     
  16. Mulox

    Mulox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    VinylPush, I did use Ritek and it still took 40 minutes. It has to be something else. I am working on a few possible fixes. If nothing works, as a last resort I will try pulling the DVR-105 out of my 2800+ XP and putting it in my 1800+ XP to see I have the same problem.
     
  17. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mulox, If you're running Windows XP (or 2003 Server) you might try checking that your drive is actually in UDMA mode.

    Go to Device Manager and check the Advanced Settings in the Properties for either your Primary or Secondary IDE Channel (depending where the DVDR is plugged in!).

    If it is anything other than an Ultra DMA Mode (i.e. PIO MODE 4 or similar) then remove the IDE Channels within Device Manager and reboot.

    It's a common problem.
     
  18. Mulox

    Mulox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope.
    [​IMG]

    Also, I am running the DVR-105 as master, and a Samsung CD-RW/DVD-rom combo drive as slave, both on secondary IDE. I wonder if patching Nforce2 drivers might help?

    Some suggestions were offered in another topic, but I don't know if any of it will help:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/1/50616
     
  19. Insite

    Insite Guest

    Mulox -

    I have a similar setup to you in that I use a dvr-105 and a samsung dvd/cd-rw drive. It takes me about 35min to burn a dvd at 4x. haven't yet figured out the reason. I run a pretty hot system at dual 2800XPs with 3.5GB ram and a SCSI-160 disk subsystem, so i know i'm able to get the necessary IO throughput. What firmware are you running? I haven't really goofed with mine yet. I used to use a matsushita DVD-R drive, but it fried, so this drive is my first experience with 4x burns. i'll repost if i figure it out.
     
  20. Mulox

    Mulox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks insite. I am using v1.33 firmware. I just installed an adaptec aspi fix, but I dunno if it will work. I will let you know after I test it. What firmware are you running?
     

Share This Page