1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

queastions about 3DMark...

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by GTR35, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i've ran the 3dmark 06 and my score is 4171! thats low...first two test was ok FPS was about 50 when theres little action but when theres a lot of action it drops to 16...and the cpu test is disastrous no FPS!

    CPU: AMD Athlon64 3500+ (939)
    GPU: MSI 8800GTS 256MB OC
    MOBO: Albatron KM51 series
    RAM: Cheap Kingston ram 2x 512MB (DDR 400)
    PSU: AOpen 450w
    HDD: Seagate 250GB SATA

    so the questions are:

    -if the cpu is slow does it effect the FPS?...

    -i have a 8800GTS when watching the cinematics in the game the FPS is quite high about 50ish but when the games starts is drops to 16ish, is the cpu bottlenecking the gpu or is it my gpu's problem

    -is 4171 an "OK" score for gaming?
     
  2. mikeh0303

    mikeh0303 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The things that are limiting you are your CPU, RAM and Motherboard. That graphics card is very good.
     
  3. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    oh ok...i thought so...thnx
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That score's alright, I only get 6700 when I overclock my graphics card. Normally it's just below 6000. The 3dmark tests are supposed to run really badly, that way they can guarantee your graphics card is being pushed to the limit.
     
  5. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    so ok...but still its not good not higher enough...i'm not satisfied
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I think thats about as high as you'll get with that CPU. The motherboard's also pretty suck, so that may be slowing things down a bit.
     
  7. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yeah the mobo and the cpu is bottlenecking my graphics...by the way is 450w power enough?
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Depends which 450W.
    A 450W Q-tec, EZCool, Coolmax, Magna, Casecom, Xion, Apevia or any other of those horrible cheap brands then no.
    A 450W Antec, Seasonic, Tagan, Enermax, yes.

    I'm not entirely sure where AOpen fit in that bracket.
     
  9. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    AOpen Prescott Ready LGA 775 450w...is AOpen good...
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, they make OK drives, but I don't know about PSUs.
     
  11. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    well, this PSU is very quiet...and thats good...
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes but there are plenty of quiet power supplies out there that are quiet but will stop working in a year and destroy half the PC's components. I've had one that matches that description.
     
  13. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yeah i know what you mean...i had one too, the psu F'ed up my motherboard...well that was long time ago...AMD Athlon XP 2400...but this one seems good to me i dont have any problems...yet...
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, never can be too sure. I had a PSU last a whole year and then nuke half my components...
     
  15. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    lol...back to the topic...i heard that 3dmark06 lowers your computers score...if one use the 3dmark05 their score are higher...is that tru
     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes, because it's relative to the time scale.
    i.e. if you get 20,000 marks that's an excellent score. If you get 2000 marks, that's a mediocre score. Getting 20,000 marks in 01, but only 2000 marks in 06 means your card would have been great in 2001, but not so great in 2006.
     
  17. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    oh ok...now i know...
     

Share This Page