1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about Burning

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by petergrif, Mar 25, 2005.

  1. petergrif

    petergrif Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Iam new to this so i have a question. What do I need if i dont have a mod chip? Can i still make back-ups of my games? If so what do I need? Thanks
     
  2. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    PS2 games are actually pressed DVD/CD discs, they are not burned. PS2 games use the Burst Cutting Area (BCA) of the disc to identify themselves to the PS2 unit. The BCA is not part of a disc that you can burn on, it is only replicated on pressed discs. So, the only way to play backups is to get boot-discs or a mod-chip.

    You will need swap magic disks and way to open the
    tray without pressing the eject button.

    http://www.swapmagic3.com

    to make the backups just read our great tutorial.
    All you neeed is dvd decrypter and its free.

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/1/15105

     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2005
  3. petergrif

    petergrif Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok. Do you know if i can load god of war onto my HD loader or is that not possible
     
  4. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

    The game GOW is freezing in the middle because of the
    ptp in the second layer.
    you can yes,But it wont play all the way through.
    I would wait for a patch.


     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2005
  5. petergrif

    petergrif Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    A patch for my HD loader for GOW? How long would that take?
     
  6. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the patch is for the GAme itself because it
    is dual layer pressed ptp.

    A patch should be released within a couple of
    weeks,
    You could load it now and play until it freezes then
    patch the .iso and re-transfer it.



     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2005
  7. petergrif

    petergrif Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah...but I copied it off the real CD not a copied one. Should i copy it then wait till the patch comes out?
     
  8. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you copied it off the original then you should note that its dual layer.
    (mine was almost 8gigs when i ripped it to my hdd)
    You can copy it now and add the .iso patch later,
    (when and if its released.)
     
  9. petergrif

    petergrif Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    But then i have to get the magic swap to play it correct?
     
  10. petergrif

    petergrif Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I looked on this site and i can download magic swap. What kind of CD do i put it on DVD or CD?
     
  11. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Swap magic cant be copied it wont work.
    It must be an original swap magic disk, and
    you need a way to open the tray without pressing eject.
    as far as god of war goes

    .The first layer contains alot of the data,and then when you look at the second layer PART2.pak is the only file on there.It is just like GT4 protection,the PART2.pak has alot of information on it also it isn't a dummy file.Think about it why would they make a 4 something Gig file to be a dummy file,it doesn't make sense.This new protection is starting to get the best of me.I think you could downsize the PART2.pak file and the PART1.pak file and have it as one ISO,but still this new protection involves those dvd checks that check for the second layer.I know what you all mean,you can probably play it to a certain point and then it will freeze on you.Reason why is the IOPRP.img is checking the second layer for the PART2.pak.
     
  12. petergrif

    petergrif Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So what your saying is this iam going to have to buy the game?
     
  13. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2005
  14. petergrif

    petergrif Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank You for all of your help, i will look around for the Magic Swap and do the "Card Swip" to play the copied games. Thanks a lot!!!
     
  15. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No problem m8.

    Best of luck too you :)

     

Share This Page