1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about Flashing to Stock on dash 14699

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by bludd, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. bludd

    bludd Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm looking to update my dash from 13599 to 14699, would I need to flash to stock first for this update or can I just update via usb.

    Thanks for helping out.
     
  2. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i would strongly recommend going to stock first, its not a must because updates do not change your drive past 13599
     
  3. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I just did that the other day without flashing back to stock and I had no issues.

    The issues people had in the past were caused by them updating their console with a dashboard that flashed their drive back to stock via a backup game disc. The first part of the update would complete, flashing their drive back to stock, then the 360 would reboot to do the second half of the update, but as the drive was now stock it could no longer read the backup disc in the drive to finish the update.
     
  4. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the only reason i would recommend is because i had a hitachi 59 that i updated with another drive because it was pre 13599, after the update i put the original back in that i had updated already to lt2.0, after the update of the console the system would not play any backups, it played all originals fine, but no backups. I cannot explain why that is, but i feel that if it had the original drive with original firmware i dont think i would have had the issue.
     
  5. bludd

    bludd Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks all for the responses!

    I ended up taking the lazy route and not flashing back to stock and just upgraded the dash via usb first. Luckily nothing erroneous occurred and my 360 is finally up to date and able to play some new games from the past few months. :)
     

Share This Page