1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question about HDMI vs. DVI

Discussion in 'HDTV discussion' started by judes05, Mar 9, 2007.

1. judes05

judes05 Member

So I'm kind of new to this whole HDMI thing so if anyone can help me out I would REALLY appreciate it.

We just recently bought a Samsung LCD flat panel (HD ready) and we have the dish network. They came out and installed our HD cable box. When he hooked it up, in the HDMI slot he put a DVI adapter and then attached another cable that was DVI to HDMI to the HDMI slot in the TV. That sounds a bit confusing so if I can break it down:

cable box (HDMI slot) -> HDMI/DVI adapter -> DVI/HDMI cable -> TV (HDMI slot)

wouldn't it have been easier for him to just use a HDMI/HDMI cable?

So here's what this all comes down to... I now need a longer cable to where we mounted the TV. Should I just get a longer DVI-to-HDMI cable or should I just elimitate the whole setup and just get an HDMI cable? Would it affect my picture any? Or what is the difference between the two?

If anyone can help THANKS!

2. eatsushi

eatsushi Regular member

I suggest getting an HDMI - HDMI cable and just get rid of the the adapter. You'll be getting the advantage of both video and audio in a single cable. There should be no effect on picture quality.

3. cheezzzz

cheezzzz Regular member

I don't understand why he did this. Did he charge you for the apapter? hehehehe. Or maybe one of the HDMI port is bad?

4. eatsushi

eatsushi Regular member

Some older boxes have DVI instead of HDMI and the installer probably had older stock cable which they were trying to get rid of.

5. judes05

judes05 Member