1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about Swap Magic/Slide Card

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Spedizzo, Nov 6, 2004.

1. Spedizzo

Spedizzo Member

Hey all, I am not a big gamer, and have recently been browsing through the world of modding.

The 2 best options for me came down to the Slide Card w/ Swap Magic and the PS2 Flip Top w/ Swap Magic.

I have been reading MANY posts in this forum, and it seems like the PS2 Flip Top is the best choice.

However, I am not very good at installing things at all, and I feel reassured knowing that I can always send my Playstation 2 back to Sony if there is ever a problem. Not to mention the Slide Card is a little lower in price...

I have just have a couple things to ask;

Why does the Slide Card get such bad feedback? I heard that after a year or so it can cause motor problems or whatever, but if you never open the warranty seal, you can always send your PS2 to Sony, no?

And also, with Swap Magic, will I be able to play Backed Up games such as GTA: SA and others with my Slide Card and Swap Magic? Also, which Swap Magic should I get, do versions matter? I have seen 3.0, 3.2, etc.

Anyone willing to help a confused newbie? :)

Thanks in advance,
    Mike

2. pcnights

pcnights Member

Yes i was just going through the same issues recently untill I broke down and ordered swap magic with the slide card. It works great, all you have to do is take the front little cover off from where you put your disk in, then you use this cheap little slide card that they give you to slide the little white knob inside from side to side, beliver me its not that hard. I use verbatim dvd+r