1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Fellas...

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Will34, Mar 27, 2005.

1. Will34

Will34 Guest

Whats up guys, I am BRAND new to this. Ive read a lot about backing up PS2 games, but I am confused on one part. It is true that I need some kind of chip in my ps2 in order to play my back up copies of games correct? Its not like I can just make a simple back up and play it right? Thanks a lot guys

2. hursty

hursty Active member

it is true what you have read,you will need a mod device of sorts

3. Will34

Will34 Guest

Ok. Can you be more specific? What all is required? Just a chip? Where can I find this chip? How much is it? Thanks

4. Slots2

Slots2 Guest

A chip or a swap magic disk set and a fliptop..

5. Will34

Will34 Guest

Totally lost...

6. trock0002

trock0002 Member

@Will34

If I could recommend using Google....something like...

How to _______ a PS2

You can fill in the blank with some of the keywords in this thread and I promise you some helpful results.

7. hursty

hursty Active member

basically there are 3 real methods to boot copied games from your ps2
    modchip
    hd loader
    swap method

[bold]modchip[/bold]

without getting into too much detail,this usually involves a soldered chip installed inside the ps2,which will then allow the ps2 to boot copied games

this is by far the best option

[bold] hd loader [/bold]

this involves booting ps2 games from the hardrive

[bold]swapmethod[/bold]

this is where you use a swapdisc to boot the ps2 games,
    a slide card,flip top lid needs to used with the swapdisc's,
    basically,you need to trick the ps2 to let it think that it has not been turned off or reset when loading games
    i.e......,u load swapmagic,