1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question re: burning .vob to dvd-r

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by b$j, Nov 29, 2001.

1. b$j

b$j Guest

I am new to this. I have a .vob file on my HDD and I have a dvd-r. When I try to burn the .vob files back to a blank dvd-r, my set top dvd player will not recognize it. I think the problem is that I did not finalize the disk.

My question is: how do I finalize the disk when the program I am using to write to the dvd-r will only recognize the .vob extension if I select the option to make a "data" disk rather than a vcd or music cd? Should I select the option to make a mixed mode cd (will such a disk be finalized)?

I don't want to waste anymore blank dvd-r's. Thanks.

2. dvdman

dvdman Guest

I have the same problem I tried copying it back to my burner and now if I insert that disk it locks up the machine. in other threads they talk about a software by the name of Prassi Primo dvd I'm wondering if there are other softwares to use like nero?

3. tonix

tonix Member

As far as I've been able to get is you need to demux the vob files into there component parts (ie mv2 and Ac3 files) and then reassemble them in some software that can put those pieces together for you. (in the Mac world DVD Studio Pro)

4. b$j

b$j Guest

I guess what I really want to know is: is it possible with any program to make this a two step process? In other words, can you rip a dvd to your hard drive and then burn it straight back to a dvd-r, if you have a dvd burner, without out all of the in between steps (i.e. using dvd2avi and TMPGEne)?

If so, what program do you use to burn the files back to dvd-r? If not, is there any higher quality method than svcd? Thanks.

5. tonix

tonix Member