1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questions after Duo 3 gold install

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by sublimej, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. sublimej

    sublimej Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, so I installed my Duo 3 on a v16 slim PS2 today. I have a few concerns, and was hoping someone could answer them for me

    1. This is the stupidest question, but when the PS2 first turns on and it gets the part where you can view your memory card or your system info, isn't that blue ball supposed to be spinning? Mine just stops, and I though the system was freezing on me at first. Everything works fine, but I could have sworn that blue swirled around. Just want to see if anyone can verify that is the case, and if so possibly suggest what could cause that

    2. The little stopper that slows the cd down. I do not recall that getting in the way when I put a game in before the mod, but it sure does now. Did I put something together wrong, or am I just crazy?

    3. This is the most important one. I want to verify that everything is working right. On the chip's website it says if you hold start, the screen will display "disabled" and the chip will turn off, and it also says holding R1 will give you the option to boot from the memory card. I can get neither to do this

    I just bought the PS2, so some of these questions may be just because I am not familiar with it, but I just want to make sure I didn't mess anything up. The backup games play fine, as do originals, so I guess it really doesn't matter too much anyway, but I just get the fealing that something is not running right on this thing. Is there any configuration disk or anything that can run so I get some indication there is a Duo3 chip running aside from the backups playing?

    I hope that all makes sense, thanks a lot for any responses. I know nothing about PS2 modchips, or even the system for that matter
     
  2. sublimej

    sublimej Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, after searching for a while, I have figure out this much

    1. I found someone else with this issue, and it is resolved by setting the time. Strange that it causes the ball to stop spinning, but easy enough, that's fixed

    2. There was no problem with that. It seems to be just fine, I just felt like it was getting in the way I guess

    Which leaves me with just 3. Why would everything work fine as far as backups go, but I can't get the chip to say disabled or anything like it supposedly does?? Anyone have experience with the duo 3 that might be able to tell me what I am doing wrong, or let me know what would cause it not to work when I hold start as the website says. Maybe a specific solder point I should be checking??

    Other than that, everything is working great. The chip was recommended to me on this site, so I appreciate the help. Hopefully someone can answer this one last question for me
     
  3. pengo2001

    pengo2001 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011
  4. sublimej

    sublimej Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, thanks. Actually, after messing with it forever I finally figured it out. You have to hold start while the system boots up. I guess that's kind of obvious now that I think about it, but I was trying it just at the boot screen.

    So I feel confident everything is installed right. So I am pleased
     
  5. pengo2001

    pengo2001 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011

Share This Page