1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

questions before purchasing ps2 tomorrow

Discussion in 'PS2' started by rodd187, Jul 29, 2003.

1. rodd187

rodd187 Member

i appologize in advance for these questions, i have searched though past posts for some time now and i can not seem to find the answers to some questions. i have been backing up dvd movies for some time now but i am an extreme newbie as far a ps2 goes so any info would be helpful before shelling out the $
    1. if i purchase a flip top lid and swap magic vs.2 will that be all i need to burn games?
    2. can you use DVD+R media for burning games or must it be DVD-R?
    3. if i purchase a ps2 tomorrow at Best Buy how can i tell what version it will be?
    4. are all games DVD-5 or are some DVD-9 and if so what program and how do i go about backing up large dvd games?

2. Hanedrick

Hanedrick Regular member

1.) flip top lid and swap magic vs.2 is all you need to play backups.
    2.) On versions 1-3 it can only read dvd-r, v4 is it or miss with dvd+r v5 and up can read both types of media.
    3.) If you buy a ps2 tomorow and you are in the U.S. then it will be a version 7 cause those are the only versions currently in stock in U.S. which also means you can play dvd+r.
    4.) Almost all games are DVD-5 but there are some DVD-9. example Metal Gear Solid: Sons of Liberty. Don't know much about copying DVD-9 games though._X_X_X_X_X_[small]You are probably wondering how I came up with the name Hanedrick. Well... the name Hanedrick is a very distorted version of my sisters name and I call her that whenever I want to get on her nerves which is like 24/7.
    Version 5 ps2.
    Fliptop Cover/smd[/small]

Last edited: Jul 29, 2003
  3. jay33

jay33 Regular member