1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quick Question About HDD Upgrade

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by moxyman, May 27, 2011.

  1. moxyman

    moxyman Guest

    Hey guys.

    I have a few question about upgrading my PS3 hard drive. I dont care about saving anything on my old PS3 HDD.

    1. Do I just put the new HDD into the PS3 and format it to Fat32 there, or should I do it on my PC first?

    2. I want to run CFW 3.55, but once I put the new HDD in the PS3 wont it force me to upgrade to the newest firmware and thus make it so I cant install the CFW for 3.55?

    3. I know last time I installed CFW 3.55 and Multiman I followed a guide here. Is there a link to that still and im just missing it?

    If there is anything else I should know about installing a new HDD please let me know. I am a noob to this and CFW/Homebrew. I know i have done it once already but I had some problems so Im hoping it all comes back to me.

    Thanks in advance for any help or advice guys!
     
  2. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    When you place a new hdd in the ps3 you will require to install the latest firmware update, by latest it mean the firmware it currently has or above. So you are on 3.55 but the latest is 3.61, but it doesnt mean you have to install 3.61, just have 3.55 on a usb stick and it'll still install.

    So download the official 3.55 fw, then install that, then install kmeaw via recovery mode.

    guide is here: http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/arc...ation_3_custom_firmware_3_55_run_homebrew.cfm

    You do not have to format the drive on your pc first just put it into the ps3 straight away, and the ps3 will format it whilst you install the firmware.

    Only thing you need to know about a new hdd is make sure it's 9.5mm in height, not 12mm. 12mm high drives do not fit in the ps3. Largest drive you can place in the ps3 is therefore a 750gb one, but there are some 750gb drives that are 12mm in hight as well so you need to check before you buy them.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  3. malakav

    malakav Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm Having trouble upgrading my drive from an original 80gb HDD to a 320gb WD3200BEVT HDD which i heard was compatible with PS3

    Now I have OFW *original firmware version 3.70 installed on the original HDD, when I change the disk, It doesn't tell me to format the brand new drive, it only says that the correct harddrive was not found, I tried the method of the 2 beps and 2 fast beeps (BOOT PS3 MODE) and I tried the several options there.

    The rebuild database tells me that the disc cannot be detected, the restore file system goes to an error...

    I have tried formatting the drive to FAT32 using my pc at 32kb cluster size and still no success, when I manage to get something... there is a screen where it asks update 3.7 or later, I put the HDD in which I put the update along the backup files, but it doesnt detect the update...

    what steps should I do, I have not tried restoring file system or other options with the Original 80gb hdd, should i try that or what do you recommend?
     
  4. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    lol, the ofw is not only installed on the hdd but also on chips on the motherboard.

    You cannot simple put in a new hdd and expect to be able to install any firmware on it, you can only install 3.70 or above now.

    But do not worry, you can get the e3flasher which downgrades 3.70 to cfw 3.55

    When installing firmware on a new hdd, the pup file has to be on a usb stick in the folder root:/PS3/UPDATES/PS3UPDAT.PUP
     
  5. whompus

    whompus Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You can also get 1 tb drives at 9.5 mm. There just not as many to chose from. For instance the WD10JPVT is 1 tb and is 9.5 mm in size. Is a pretty good drive, I got one for my laptop. I have not tested it in the ps3 but see no reason why it would not work.
     
  6. malakav

    malakav Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I will try bigo93´s option and let you know what happens, I hope I can get it done, I already spent some buck on the 320 gb hdd, a bay for connecting laptop HDD to my pcs and some small screwdrivers...

    thanks on the responses
     
  7. whompus

    whompus Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yeah no reason for you to go and purchase a new drive really. No matter what drive you personally use, you will still be on 3.70 fw and have to downgrade to use cfw. I was just saying 1 tb drives do exist in 9.5 mm size. My comment was meant more for the o p.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  8. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just to let you know, the e3 flasher is not available yet, and not sure if it works on phat consoles, think it may only be slims for the time being.

    But seeing how sony tried so hard to stop the jailbreak dongles, they'll probably try to stop this before it gets shipped as well.

    If the e3 flasher is legit you may want to order it asap as there will be big demand for it. Or you can wait in the hopes someone finds 3.70 keys.
     
  9. malakav

    malakav Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am not trying to input a CFW I just want a bigger HDD but my PS3 doesnt let meafter all the different approaches, is there a step i missed or any other way to install it?
     
  10. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Oh right, I thought you made the first post as well.

    Well a hard drive change is, should be pretty simple.

    Download the firmware that is currently on your system, or one that is newer than it.
    Copy to usb stick, sorry I wrote UPDATES when it should be UPDATE, so copy to root:/PS3/UPDATE/PS3UPDAT.PUP
    Change PS3 hdd to new one.
    Turn on PS3
    Plug usb stick into ps3
    Press and hold Select+Start or whatever it says, will have to hold for 5 seconds or so.
    PS3 will them install the firmware.

    If this does not work then there is something else wrong. see http://us.playstation.com/support/systemupdates/ps3/pc_update/
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  11. pv0617

    pv0617 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    latest is 4.10 but im currently running 3.55. will i be able to install new drive and stay at 3.55
     

Share This Page