1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RAM and decode/encode speed

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by Okanagan, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. Okanagan

    Okanagan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have 512MB DDR400 (dual channel) and a P4 2.8
    Will decode/encode speed benefit much if I go to 1GB RAM? Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. celtic_d

    celtic_d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I highly doubt it. What is your current RAM usage during playback anyway?
     
  3. The_OGS

    The_OGS Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I too doubt it will benefit much.
    Much is the key word here - of course it will not hurt :)
    But the difference will not be dramatic...
    If you are running 512MB in 2 channels, you will have big $$ to upgrade - you must replace both your 256 sticks with 512's, or what?
    Much easier to go from 512 (single) to 1GB (dual), LoL.
    If you have no immediate interest in a new PC, you like your P4 2.8 fine, and you have plans for the 2 old 256MB sticks, then WTF go ahead and upgrade ;-)
    But it won't help decode/encode speed much.
    Praetor says we all need 1GB RAM (but, he runs these huge UT4 and FarCry multiplayer tournaments).
    Generally with 512MB, WinXP leaves at least 384MB available for programs, and for most things it is enough.
    Regards
     
  4. Okanagan

    Okanagan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for you thoughts. It's the processing of video files I'd like to speed up: converting DVD to divx and vice versa - it takes about an hour for a 90 minute film. My 512 is not maxed out during processing so I thought that wasn't limiting but I had received advice that said more ram would help.

    BTW, I'm supposed to be able to stay dual channel by adding two more 256MB sticks.

    Thanks again...
     
  5. celtic_d

    celtic_d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    When you process video, it is done basically frame by frame so you don't need alot of ram. What you need is one or more faster CPU's.
     

Share This Page