1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RAm Question

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Gumby76, May 1, 2005.

  1. Gumby76

    Gumby76 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, i am now currently running a stock compaq presario 6700 or something like that and i currently have 256mb of ram. The max capacity the computer can handle is 1gb. I want to get to this max capacity since i like gaming and it seems to be a little slow now. So, now my question should i get rid of the old ram stick and get a 1gb stick or just get a 512mb stick and a 256mb stick or even two 512mb sticks and get rid of the old. Which do you guyz recommend and also remommend me some places where i can get them cheaper.

    -thanks-
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    go with 2 sticks of 512meg if pocketbook supports it so if 1 goes bad still got 2nd
     
  3. Liez4Love

    Liez4Love Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what says your computer can only handle 1 gig of ram?
     
  4. Gumby76

    Gumby76 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I went on Compaqs website and it said 1gb ram max capacity. Thanks for your help.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     

Share This Page