1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ram

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by kench87, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. kench87

    kench87 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i bought my computer four years ago with 512ram in it. I now want to add another 512 to it but i'm not sure what kind of ram to buy. I bought my computer from Ibuypower.com so i can't just enter the maker and model number and find out what kind i need. Is there anyway to know without taking my computer apart? thanks for the help.
     
  2. pcrepair

    pcrepair Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    use cpu-z (google it)
    it will tell you what ram you have

    use an earth strap when delving inside a computer
    but not on psu's or monitors
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the make & model# of the motherboard?
     
  4. kench87

    kench87 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i used cpu-z but didn't really understand the info.
     
  5. kench87

    kench87 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a windbond vt8366-8233
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    i don't think that is the motherboard info. will say asus p3166 or something like that.
     
  7. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah, the Winbond is just the sensor chip inside the motherboard. If you go into your BIOS it will tell you what kind of RAM you have installed.
     

Share This Page