1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Random PC lag.

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by ZippyDSM, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I have semi regular lag and I have no idea where its coming from.

    Here's my specs via speccy


    ====================================================

    Summary
    Operating System
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 40 °C
    Deneb 45nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 2140MHz (8-8-8-20)
    Motherboard
    ASUSTeK Computer INC. Crosshair IV Formula (AM3) 40 °C
    Graphics
    E370VL (1920x1080@59Hz)
    640MB GeForce 8800 GTS (EVGA) 56 °C
    Hard Drives
    2795GB Western Digital WDC WD30EZRX-00MMMB0 ATA Device (SATA) 26 °C
    932GB Western Digital WDC WD10EACS-00D6B1 ATA Device (SATA) 30 °C
    932GB Western Digital WDC WD1001FALS-00J7B1 ATA Device (SATA) 35 °C
    932GB Seagate ST31000528AS ATA Device (SATA) 31 °C
    1863GB Western Digital WDC WD2001FASS-00W2B0 ATA Device (SATA) 29 °C
    Optical Drives
    DTSOFT Virtual CdRom Device
    HL-DT-ST BD-RE WH08LS20 ATA Device
    Audio
    High Definition Audio Device
    Operating System
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
    Computer type: Desktop
    edited by ddp
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2012
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Zippy, edit out your Windows serial! Don't really need any of the info under

    Have you done the usual already: CCleaner, anti virus scans etc? Checked HDD health, run Memtest to check your RAM?

    Does the lag usually occur in just games, or generally using the PC? How new is the build? Are you overclocking? Temps look fine.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2012
  4. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Oh damn I am a noob LOL

    No viruses I can find. It is a new build been having random lag issues since I put it together. I bet it hates the ram I got ;_;

    Laq happens regardless of how much strain I put on the PC.

    I been thinking possible timing issues.
     
  5. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I think this is probably your issue. I've never played with overclocking RAM or adjusting timings, but I would put your RAM back down to stock and see how it takes.
     
  6. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Right will try in a few hours when I can turn it off its patriot 1600 2000Mhz 4GB paired.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,801
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    post edited.
     
  8. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    RAM
    8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 1605MHz (6-6-6-18)


    Put it from 1600 to 800 seems to be working fine now.
     
  9. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Good to hear.
     
  10. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Uhg since I record local talk radio from 6-4 I can't mess with it to much need to try and get it up to 2000MHZ or somewhere in between 1600-2000.
     
  11. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    What is the stock clock? 1600MHz?

    Why are you so intent on overclocking your RAM anyway? Also, when you overclocked before, did you increase the voltages?
     
  12. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    2000, my ram is faster than the mobo LOL
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,801
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    there is your problem then, get a faster motherboard for that ram.
     
  14. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Sure give me 500$ so I can get a new CPU too :p
     
  15. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well you don't need to underclock your RAM for that reason - you mobo should underclock it anyway, so leaving it at 2000MHz should be fine.
     
  16. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,801
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
  18. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  19. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'm surprised nobody suggested Ready Boost *well it was funny in my head* :p
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,801
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    ZippyDSM, your board has 4 ram slots for a total of 16gigs max so don't think it can use 2x8gigs.
     
  21. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

Share This Page