1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

random shut down

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by wabashman, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    ok, so lately ive been having trouble with my desktop. it shuts down randomly. and nothing has been changed in it except taking out an IDE burner and replacing it with a sata burner. when it shuts down it completely shuts down, as if i pulled out the cord from the wall. so any help would be greatly appreciated. specs on the computer are
    vista ultimate
    amd 64 x2 4200 OCed to 2.52.
    4 gigs of ram, even though its only seeing 2.75 of it.

    also, i checked the temps of the computer while its running and they seem to be fine, high 20's when ideling, mid 30s when doing something normal, internet, word ect, and low 40's when ripping a movie or something like that.
     
  2. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Could be your PSU. What have you got? Also, vista will always see 2.75 gigs as its max, since thats all it can use. I think that the service pack will fix that though. (hopefully)
     
  3. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    it has a cheap 550 watt one in it. which is what i thought the problem lies at as well, but was hoping it wasnt since i dont really want to spend monye right now, lol. and i realized vista only sees 2.75, hopefulyl the SP1 does fix this, but i dont think this is case, i thought all 32 bit OS's could only see a max of 2.75 gigs?? i could be wrong though.

    what PSU would you suggest, i have 4 HDs and 3 optical devices currently.
    thanks
     
  4. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Enermax, OCZ, Thermaltake, Zalman and Antec are real good to name a few. I have a Antec 550watt, works great. Best PSU I've ever had. It sounds like you have alot of stuff in your computer, so i think a 600watt antec should be good enough.

    That's what i thought too, but I could be wrong. I think I got corrected on that a while back in a different thread.
     
  5. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  6. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The first psu looks good. 600watt should be enough... Under $100 too. 7 4 pin molex connectors too.
     
  7. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    right on, now to convince mom to buy it for me for x-mas, lol. shouldnt me that hard to do.

    thanks for all your help!!!
     
  8. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    no prob
     
  9. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    well just ordered the first one on the list, should be here tomorrow thanks for mom and only living like 90 miles away form a TD warehouse.
    thanks for everything again
     
  10. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    well apparently it wasnt the PSU, becuase i put the new one in thursday, and it just now (saturday) shut off again for no reason. so what now???
     
  11. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    bump. also if it matters, i did not have this problem all summer long at home where i had no internet. but once i got back to college and updated vista this crap started. so any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    try:

    a) a new S-ATA cable
    b) using the burner in a different PC to check if it causes the same problem
    c) finding out what causes the problem (i.e. when it happens)
     
  13. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i dont think its the burner thats causing the problem,as it started before i bought the new one. also it happens at different times, sometimes when the cpu is under load, and sometimes when its not. so i dont know what its problem is.
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, if it's not the burner, it's not the power supply (it won't be the OS), it's probably the motherboard.
     
  15. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i hope its not, becuase ive only had this MOBO for about 6 months or so. maybe its still under some warrenty then from the manufacturer. so would it be a faulty chipset now, or what? or could it be those watch-type batteries are going dead??
     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Nah, they only keep your BIOS settings and the system time. Important, but not responsible for this problem I don't think. Despite the fact the motherboard's new, it sounds like it may be faulty, which motherboard do you have?
     
  17. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Field Value
    Motherboard Properties
    Motherboard ID 08/17/2006-NF-MCP55-6A61JFK9C-00
    Motherboard Name Foxconn N570SM2AA-8EKRS2H

    Front Side Bus Properties
    Bus Type AMD Hammer
    Effective Clock 228 MHz
    HyperTransport Clock 1140 MHz
    Real Clock 228 MHz

    Memory Bus Properties
    Bandwidth 11468 MB/s
    Bus Type Dual DDR2 SDRAM
    Bus Width 128-bit
    DRAM:FSB Ratio CPU/7
    Effective Clock 717 MHz
    Real Clock 358 MHz (DDR)

    Motherboard Physical Info
    CPU Sockets/Slots 1 Socket AM2
    Expansion Slots 2 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 2 PCI-E x16
    Extra Features SATA-II, RAID
    Form Factor ATX
    Integrated Devices Audio, Dual Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394
    Motherboard Chipset nForce570SLI
    Motherboard Size 240 mm x 300 mm
    RAM Slots 4 DDR2 DIMM

    Motherboard Manufacturer
    BIOS Download http://www.foxconnchannel.com/service/Downloads.aspx
    Company Name Hon Hai Precision Industry Co., Ltd.
    Product Information http://www.foxconnchannel.com/Product/Motherboard.aspx


    this is what i got from everest....
     
  18. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmm, foxconn aren't the greatest of motherboard manufacturers anyway...
     
  19. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    thats what i thought when i got it, but it came with the cpu as a package deal and had 2 ide input spots that i needed.
     
  20. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Most decent motherboards still come with two IDE ports, despite the fact that only one is usually needed.
     

Share This Page