1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RE: Bricking my Wii...?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by lukemulde, May 24, 2007.

1. lukemulde

lukemulde Member

I just got a Wii, the LG DVD Drive and a Wiikey. I have been reading heaps about consoles getting bricked by SPM.

If I only play games within my region (PAL) will I ever have to worry about my console getting bricked?

2. lukemulde

lukemulde Member

Also, would a game with a console update on it (eg. SPM when its finally released in PAL land) brick the console?

3. ghaleon

ghaleon Member

So far, what I've seen of the list (bear in mind, I'm no expert), is that it looks like you need to be wary of any NTSC game that carries an update. Super Paper Mario carries the firmware update to 2.2U, which is different than 2.2E. If you already have 2.2E, your supposedly alright.

Still, I think the only risks you need to be wary of are games that carry updates, and even then, if you have the equivilent PAL update, its supposedly fine.

4. lukemulde

lukemulde Member

Any way of getting the update without going online?

5. ghaleon

ghaleon Member

Not to my knowledge. The only way to update a Wii that I'm aware of is Wiiconnect24, since Nintendo would die before they told people to burn an update CD, and no one seems to have modified wii firmware yet.

6. lukemulde

lukemulde Member

Ok. NTSC SPM is only bricking PAL Wii's though, right? NTSC Wii's are fine?

Last edited: May 24, 2007
  7. larrylje

larrylje Active member

Any PAL/NTSC(U)/NTSC(J) can be bricked if you play an out of region game disc on your Wii and the Game Disc updates your Wii with the wrong firmware. (Keep your firmware up to date on the Wii)

Below is a guide to follow when playing a Game Disc that has a firmware update on it.

NTSC(U) Game + NTSC(U) Wii = No chance of a brick
    PAL Game + PAL Wii = No chance of a brick