1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Read errors when trying to back up disc

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by jcakes, Feb 22, 2005.

  1. jcakes

    jcakes Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I bought I [heart] Huckabees today and am trying to make a copy of it. It's a flipper - Side 1 is widescreen, Side 2 pan & scan. I want to copy Side 1.

    I have tried copying with DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink on three different drives with both programs, and EVERYTIME I get a read error when it's 88% done.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  2. brobear

    brobear Guest

    First of all, check the source DVD to see if there is a problem. The freeware DVDInfoPro or another media test program should tell you if you have any errors around the area you're stopping on. Another possibility is memory. How much free space is left on the hard drive?
     
  3. brobear

    brobear Guest

    Forgot, try side 2 to see if it stops around the same spot.
     
  4. jcakes

    jcakes Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just tried side two and it copied fine.

    I just downloaded DVDInfoPro.

    I'm running the CRC read errors test.
    Is this the test I should be running?

    Thanks.
     
  5. brobear

    brobear Guest

    The icon with the magnifying glass activates the test. The errors should show up on the graph corresponding to the area where the rip halted. It's looking like the side you want is faulty. A disc that won't record will still sometimes play on a standalone player. That confuses some people. It just boils down to standalone players being more forgiving of errors.
     
  6. jcakes

    jcakes Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DVDInfoPro gave read errors at 88%.

    And, I just tried to play the movie and at 1:33:37, which is exactly 88% of the way through the movie, it froze.

    Looks like the disc is junk.

    Thanks.
     
  7. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    you can try using decrypter on brute force/ignore read errors
    have you tried cutting the damaged scenes out?
    not sure how or if it will work but dvd shrink has a option in reauthor mode
    reauthor/right click/start-end frames
     
  8. brobear

    brobear Guest

    Hursty
    One can delete the section, but who wants a movie with a part missing? Also, if the file is necessary to play the DVD, it may not work.
     
  9. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    you would be suprised!
    someone asked the same question a few weeks ago
    they wanted the option of removing scenes which contained heavy violence,so there kids could watch it.

    i am sure it would work with files missing
    surely you would create start/end point-cut out the damaged part,the start/end again
    i know people want the whole movie,but it is just an option.
    hehehe

    with kind regards hursty
     
  10. brobear

    brobear Guest

    And some people won't watch "Ole Yeller" or the Yearling. LOL I was referring to skipping sectors not editing a movie.
     
  11. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    have you ever used shrink to stop/start?
    i was just wondering if it worked in the way i think it does.i.e do you know if can remove selected corrupt frames?

    regards hursty
     
  12. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    it does.i just tried it
    it moves in increments of 6 secs(15 frames)
    you can drop and drag as many times as you like
     
  13. brobear

    brobear Guest

    Shrink is one of the better editing transcoders available. I still use it for it's utilities even if I don't transcode with it.
     
  14. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i have always chucked the towel in when it comes to corrupt dvd,next time i will try stop/start with shrink
    dont mind missing a few secs if it allows me copy a dvd
     
  15. brobear

    brobear Guest

    I don't know why people are having the problems using the same software I am and recording the same movies. I've been using AnyDVD and Decrypter for ripping my files to the HD and DVDCopy3 and RB/CCE for transcoding and encoding. For burning, I use Nero and CopyToDVD. Occasionally I'll use DVD Shrink to keep in practice. With those apps, I haven't had to do any editing to get movies to record and I've done some of the more troublesome movies that have come out recently.
     

Share This Page