1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

reading the disc, fliptop elevation...

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by 7a7plague, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. 7a7plague

    7a7plague Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so my ps2 slimline as of late hasn't been reading discs unless the top is closed, or only open about an inch or less, anything further and it cuts off. Any ideas guys? this prevents me from swapping. If i let swapmagic load, and open it far enough to put in my backup, it says "insert bigger TOC disc" and then if i try to continue by putting in a backup, when i close the lid it says "not a valid ps2 disc" on on the swapmagic menu. Anybody ever heard of this before?
    Thanks,

    -Jared
     
  2. simmo2302

    simmo2302 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    are you using a "aftermarket" fliptop lid, or flip top case ?

    "aftermarket" as in not the pop-up lid that is on the ps2 slim when u buy it.
     
  3. 7a7plague

    7a7plague Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    pardon my terminology then. It is the original "pop top" that came on the slimline, i did not replace anything on the slim, meerly put it the magic keys. That is the closest thing to altering it that i did.
    Thanks,

    -Jared
     
  4. simmo2302

    simmo2302 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ahh well now that we know that.

    what version magic keys u using. 1 or 2.

    also what version u using of slim line SCPH-XXXXX ? or version #

    u may need magic keys 2 or magic switch pro v3 depending on what version slim u have.

    but b4 u race out getting other "magic keys"

    i'd double & triple check that one u got is installed correct.
     
  5. 7a7plague

    7a7plague Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well it's worked perfectly fine for the past 6 months for sure.
    I believe i have a v12 slim

    no. scph-70012

    I know for sure i use swap magic 3+ (v.3.6)
    just from lookin on old help topic forums i found that i use "slimtools"
    I hope that helps you help me. haha.
    Thanks,

    -Jared
     
  6. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    One of your magic keys could possibly be loose and not closing one of the sensors properly. Might want to check that.
     
  7. 7a7plague

    7a7plague Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if that's the case, would it be the metal one that is lodged near the hinge on the poptop?

    -Jared
     
  8. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes indeed. Near the hinge. For me, I just used a strawed and its been held down since with the lid closed everytime I've played.
     
  9. 7a7plague

    7a7plague Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    a "strawed"? i don't exactly know what you mean. And my problem is running it with the lid open, in order to swap my "swapmagic" disc with the backup of my game.

    -Jared
     
  10. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I meant using a straw to hold down the switch hidden underneath the hinge.
     
  11. 7a7plague

    7a7plague Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    that allows you to run with the pop top open? Cuz thats definitely what i mean, you should take some pics and show me if that's the case.

    -Jared
     

Share This Page