1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem recording level question..

Discussion in 'General audio discussion' started by earlburtnett, Apr 4, 2018.

1. earlburtnett

earlburtnett Member

hi I'm pretty new to this general topic..i seem to be having problems with the recording level settings in these softwares..one of the levels goes into the red and the other level stays not in the red..im using either audacity or ashampoo..is there a software that automatically adjusts the recording levels?im either recording lps and or 78s..its just that the recording levels are off..any suggestions?

lenny

2. Sophocles

Sophocles Senior member

When recording audio it's always better to manually set the input levels. Ideally you want some of your levels to just peak into the red a bit as your maximum, this way you get the best signal to noise ratio and you maximize dynamic range. IF the source is stereo there will always be some difference in right and left channels, but the maximum levels for both should be about the same. If they're monaural then you should adjust them until the meter reading for both channels are identical.

3. Mez

Mez Active member

I record at a lower level. The red means you are distorting the recording. Once it is recorded, you can increase the volume to as loud as you want it with audacity, if that is what you use to record. The only distortion you get that way is if you overload your equipment.

4. Sophocles

Sophocles Senior member