1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recylcing RAM?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by iamdavid, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. iamdavid

    iamdavid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can i take the ram out of an old pc and plop it into my current one?
     
  2. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    if it's compatible, yeah. but odds are, if it's coming out of an old pc and going in a new one, it's slower ram and maybe of a different type. not really worth it.
     
  3. iamdavid

    iamdavid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    they're both old pc's, is there a way to check?
     
  4. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You could look at the motherboard manuals to see if both computers use the same RAM, or you could take the RAM out and look at it to see if they are the same.
     
  5. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    or use cpuz.
     
  6. BadBone

    BadBone Guest

    Like GrandpaBW said, take the memory out of both computers and make sure they look the same

    look at the notches on the bottom of them and make sure they line up. and look for writings on the memories. SDRAM will not work on a computer that uses DDR.

    [​IMG]

    if they are the same then look at the memory chips and see the speeds and sizes of each. Since you say that it is an older computer i am assuming that they are SDRAM chips (will have 2 notches) look for writings along the line "xxx MHz or xxx FSB", SDRAMs come in bus speeds of 33 MHz, 66 MHz, 100 MHz and 133 Mhz. Pick out the ones that have the highest speeds, and also note the sizes in MB (32, 64, 128, 256, 512 Mb)

    Hope this helps
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 26, 2007
  7. iamdavid

    iamdavid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah it helps, but is there any way i can check w/out taking it apart?
     
  8. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    nope as software can't tell difference. what is the make & model# of the computers or motherboards so can see what they are using for ram?
     
  9. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Of course you can tell with software.
    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
    Download CPUz of there and extract it and just run it and click on the memory tab at the top.
    Then it says TYPE:ie. SDRAM
    SIZE:ie. 512mb
    There is where it tells you what ram you have.


     
  10. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Double Post!
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2007

Share This Page