1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Redoing System, Please Help..

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by j_holmes, Aug 11, 2004.

  1. j_holmes

    j_holmes Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I cant seem to get windows to see my hard drive.
    with out it seeing my hard drive, the option to format isnt there.
    these are the steps i took to redo my system, please if anyone notices anything wrong, reply.
    P.S. I have Gigabyte K8N Pro MotherBoard- Dual Bios,with Serial ATA HardDrive. (Windows XP Home)

    #1. Put XP CD in Drive.
    #2. Then Reboot.
    #3. Access Bios to deactivate C:.
    #4. Save and exit.
    #5. Let system run.
    #6. Windows SetUp starts. Choose option, install windows(ENTER), or recover (R), or exit (F3). (I want to install windows.)
    #7. Eliminate C:
    #8. Formatt C:, not quick, choose normal.

    When I got to step #6, it still says no HardDrives found.
    Do I need to install 3rd party drivers, if so how? I've been in my motherBoards CD, but the optin of all drivers is faded out because there installed. I went to explore the CD, but no specific drivers were named Serial ATA, there was two with ATA in there names.
     
  2. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    What do you mean Deactivate C: ???

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  3. j_holmes

    j_holmes Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Not quite sure, someone told me that in another forum, but i think he gave me bad advice.
    Can you give me step to step instructions, please.


    Thank you for your reply..
     
  4. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    Ok

    This is from memory....

    - Put the XP CD into the CD Drive.
    - Restart the comptuer (or turn on)
    - Select Install Windows
    - Select C:
    - Choose Format Drive with NTFS (i always do normal, not quick)
    - Follow on screen prompts.

    Pretty much what you said, execept the going into the BIOS and 'deactivating C:'
    Not quite sure what u mean there, but dont do it.. lol

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  5. j_holmes

    j_holmes Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    O.K. But what if it says no harddrives found.
    Obviously there here, its on this current PC.
     
  6. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is it set correct e.g master, slave(if you have another hhd on that ide cable).
    Have you got it on the right ide channel which is ide0. Try taking off your cd/dvd drives and just try the 1 hdd, make sure the end of the cable is going into the hdd if it is master.
     
  7. j_holmes

    j_holmes Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its all set right, no one has been in my tower, and when I'm in bios, where it says primary, primary slave, the options are to auto detect, i've been in there, and no hd's are appearing. Alls thats there is my LITE-ON DVD, and Floppy.
     
  8. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Cozza you think he has a burnt out hdd?
    I had a hdd that i thought was ok, put in in pc but wouldnt recognize tried evrything. Found out its blown.
     
  9. 64026402

    64026402 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You might need a driver on a floppy for the IDE controller. XP probably doesn't have a native driver.

    After XP setup starts to boot you need to hit f6 when asked for scsi drivers. Then insert the floppy with a driver.
     
  10. j_holmes

    j_holmes Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Driver should be on MotherBoard's cd, right?
    If so, when i explore the cd, and go into the driver folder, nothing is named serial ata, or anything close to it. But when i open the BOOTDrv folder, there is two with ATA in the names, oh ya, plus these to are applications,( are drivers applications?)
    Thanks for the reply.
    I read somewhere about needing drivers, but not sure on how to get, or where..
     
  11. 64026402

    64026402 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The drivers that say ATA are probably the ones.
     
  12. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    So your HDD is SATA, thats why it wont be showing in the BIOS as SATA has its own seperate BIOS then the motherboards.

    Ive havnt had any problems installing windows XP onto computers with SATA HDD's..

    I dont think it will be a burned drive, due to it currently booting and working correctly.

    So you put the CD in, reboot, Choose Install Windows and thats where it says No Hard Drive Detected?

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  13. SparkeyNi

    SparkeyNi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You need to copy the sata drivers to floppy; you will get this from your motherboard installation disk or from the manufacturer’s website. Reboot your system with the os installation disk in the drive, during the installation windows installer will ask if you want to install a third party raid or scsi driver, you do so insert floppy with you’re drivers on it and the installation should then recognize you’re hdd.

    Go to the Gigabyte website:http://www.giga-byte.com/
    Click support, motherboard, driver:
    Download Silicon Image Sata Driver:
    Version-ata 1.1.0.52 Raid,copy to floppy disk.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2004
  14. j_holmes

    j_holmes Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes CoZZa, right after i choose install WinXP,
    it states drives arent found.
    I guess I have to get the drivers off the
    motherboard cd, but not sure where exactly.
    I looked in the folder named drivers, but none are named
    serial ata or sata, or anything close.
    But... in the folder named BOOTDrv, there are
    2 (applications) with ATA in the name.
    Are these the drivers i need?

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]J_Holmes

    It's Amazing The Difference A Day Makes..[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2004
  15. vans12

    vans12 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    does the harddrive detect. If not it is dead.
     
  16. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    Ok...

    You shouldnt need any drives for SATA...

    Have you tried Putting the XP CD into the comptuer whilst ur in Windows, and opening the disc and running Setup.exe and choosing New Installation.

    Then when it restarts it should say that you already have windows do you want to format etc...

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  17. j_holmes

    j_holmes Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes,CoZZ, but it says it cant install because version of windows installed is newer than the one on disc,
    I'm assuming its meaning xpsp2, because the xp home
    comes with sp1.
    So just uninstall sp2, and all should be well?
    If so, i shouldnt run into any problems?
     
  18. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    hummm..

    That usually means you have say Windows Professional installed and your trying to use a Windows Home Edition CD, kind of thing, not what service pack is installed.

    If you go to the Microsoft Site, and do a search, it will give you instructions on installing Windows XP.

    Try going to the KB and doing a search on the error message you are receiving and it may have a resoultion to fixing your problem.

    Regards
    CoZZa
     

Share This Page