1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reducing MP4 video playback speed incl. audio sync

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by jsvez2010, Sep 16, 2011.

1. jsvez2010

jsvez2010 Member

Newbie here, with a question, hoping one of the experts out there can assist with. I have been just getting into some editing, I have a couple videos, just short ones I have downloaded for my grandson, I have been using VLC mostly for playback of videos on the computer for him. He likes to sit on grandpas knee and watch them.

Well recently I tried hitting the << arrows to mess with the playback speed. I hit it once on a couple of the videos, and they area actually pretty cool just slowed down a little bit. The speed indicator on the lower right of the player says it was reduced to 67% of the normal speed.

When I try to use the record feature on VLC the audio is all chopped up, and using movie maker, no sound at all, I have been trying to tinker with some other programs too. I understand that once you reduce the playback, it throws the audio out of sync and such.

Is there a program out there that will allow me to reduce the playback, and keep the audio and video in sync?

Will like virtualdub work or something like that?

I can pretty much make the video to any format I wish, so if there is a better format to work with I can do that too.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank all.

2. attar

attar Senior member

You want to slow down the playback and keep the audio in sync (it slows down too)?
    Can be done using VirtualDub.

3. jsvez2010

jsvez2010 Member