1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reducing size of Star Ocean 3 TOC?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by MrBungle, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. MrBungle

    MrBungle Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Lot's of peeps having trouble booting this game. I know in my case it's a TOC issue. The TOC is slightly larger than any current PS2 games. So, how do groups downsample audio and video? It only needs shrinking by 200 meg or so. Someone must know how to do this? Cheers
     
  2. Ashman1

    Ashman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm not too sure, but maybe DVD Shrink. Try just compressing the files that are too large.
     
  3. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ashman, dvd shrink is ONLY for dvd movies.
     
  4. 2005

    2005 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Even larger then MGS3???
     
  5. astroduck

    astroduck Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    MGS3 is not even really release yet...
     
  6. hinatasa

    hinatasa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmm.. well i've heard reports that "Star Ocean 3" image copied over to a "HD loader" formated HD via a PC (use like a HD encloser), boots just fine, thats one of the reasons i want to know more of how to do this procudure... hehe, there is method.. apparently 2 ways of doing this.. but the authour of a site didn't want to elbourate about this

    the site: http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.miller/HD Loader/FAQ PC Installs.htm
     
  7. naruto9

    naruto9 Guest

    I thought star ocean comes on 2 discs, so how
    can the TOC be so large?
     
  8. MrBungle

    MrBungle Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It is on 2 DVD's but each DVD is just under 4.5 gigs and DMC, GTA3 etc are 4.37 gigs. They are just a slightly too small.
     
  9. naruto9

    naruto9 Guest

    You could use a dvd 9 game as refresh
    such as Champions of norath.(+8gig)
    Or isn't that possible?
     
  10. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Actually its 4.34 gigs. It works just fine for me with swap magic. dvd decrypter, ritek g04, burned at 2x.

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]V9 PS2, flip top, SMD, DVDLoader
    Pioneer 107, ritek g04
    DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter, Nero[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2004
  11. MrBungle

    MrBungle Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmm, it IS 4.3 gigs. I'm trying a demo disc with a TOC of 4.37 gigs and yet it won't boot. I have tried the old swap trick with action replay but that won't work. I also tried using the memcard exploit but it won't work with that either. I will try burning it with DVDdecrypt but I'm sure Nero should have burnt it fine (burnt it at single speed by the way) also use ritek discs.

    I don't have swap magic. It's £25 here and I may as well wait and buy the PAL version rather than keep splashing out on stuff just hoping it will work.
     

Share This Page