1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reflashing a liteon

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by lordbodom, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. lordbodom

    lordbodom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I made the mistake of updating my system with the newest update (oops!). Now the console wont play my backups anymore and i understand that i need to get it reflashed.

    I had it flashed by someone before, and am trying to save a few bucks by trying to do it on my own this time. So have a few questions.

    I have a liteon 7 series drive. I also have the keys from the first flash so wont need the probe and all to retract. Is this something simple i can do? I have an nvidia nforce sata. Also have jungleflasher.

    Do i need the connectivity kit? or can i just power on through the xbox and connect to the 360 via sata?

    Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    are you really serious? This has been covered more than one time. You will find the answer with a simple search.
     
  3. lordbodom

    lordbodom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Unfortunately i am serious. Went through search and all and am still confused. Which is why i started a new thread specific to my questions.
     
  4. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    read the ultimate sticky. There is a step by step guide for Jungle Flasher as well. Read that and you will be fine.
     
  5. AkaMrMike

    AkaMrMike Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can use the xbox for power, but it will set a flag on console because you are running drive without sata hooked up, not a problem if you don't use live, but it could promote chances of future ban if there's slight chance they can tell you are running cfw. And as long as you have key, and can get drive detected in jungleflasher then rest is pretty simple. If you have original dump then load it in source if not just load lt1.9 in target and put your dvdkey in target box also, then right click within the rectangle surrounding the target firmware info, and select verify dvdkey just to make sure you have right one. If it matches then just go to mtk flash32 tab and click liteon erase after that is done power off and on drive quickly, and once you get right status might have to power on off a few times just click write and you're finished.
     
  6. lordbodom

    lordbodom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    THank you akamrmike. Question. You said it will set a flag if not running drive without Sata. Wouldnt i still be hooked up to sata though through the pc?
     
  7. AkaMrMike

    AkaMrMike Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It doesn't set flag on drive it sets it on xbox the xbox knows that the dvd drive isn't hooked up.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2011
  8. lordbodom

    lordbodom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I dont play online at all so that shouldnt be a problem then. One final question. I read the ultimate stickie..should i be reading the article flashing a liteon or updating?

    I have flashed the drive before but updated it so its not "flashed" anymore. Just curious.

    Thanks!
     
  9. lordbodom

    lordbodom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I managed to mess it up. So heres what i did...

    - I read the instructions. and got to the point where i did a lite-on erase and have the drive in vendor mode..Clicking on write error "Unknown flash type Write aborted !"

    Read all around but couldnt find anything on how to use preexisting keys from other pc.. so heres what i did.

    - loaded up jungleflasher
    - on target. clicked on open firmware target and navigated to liteon(phat)-post13141 and selected 1.9
    - entered the DVD key
    - went to mkt flash 32
    - clicked lite on erase
    - unpowered and repowered the drive
    - clicked write
    - get error Unknown flash type Write aborted !

    Am i out of luck? what can i do to get back on track? the dvd drive wont even open now...
     
  10. lordbodom

    lordbodom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    forgot to add. drive is "in vendor mode"
     
  11. lordbodom

    lordbodom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Not sure what i did, but i got it working. Flashed ok and confirmed. Thanks all!
     
  12. dennisv9

    dennisv9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i am just wondering where this wisdom comes from; can you eleborate a little bit more. i and many others use the xbox to power the drive, never had any flagging or banning as a result. what has changed so recently that powering with the xbox itself would lead to a flag?
     
  13. AkaMrMike

    AkaMrMike Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well I'm sure they cant just ban you for running console with sata cable unhooked, but doing so will set a flag for sure. And once that is done then they know that console has been tampered with, they might not be able to tell right now if you are running cfw, but if there are slightest differences in what they think the challenge response time your console should be sending, and what it actually is, then it would give them even more of a reason to ban you.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  14. lordbodom

    lordbodom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    anyway to know for sure if i banned myself without having to log into to live?
     
  15. dennisv9

    dennisv9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so if you are a legit gamer, and your drive fails then you are scr*w*d. simply because the dashboard expects a response from the dvd drive which it doesn't get, hence flagging it and eventually banning it.. this seems highly undoubtfull, because such a reasoning should also apply to all those WD laptop hard drives that are flashed with hddhackr tool. these can just as easily be detected by the dashboard (for the simple reason that all the drive's serials are the same after flashing with hddhackr). but as it stands, no one with a non official MS hdd got banned.

    but off course, everyone should decide how to go about (use xbox as power source or not to flash the drive). it sounds like 'monkey sandwich' to me (little word joke for the Dutch people).

    as an answer to the OP: if you used your xbox to power your drive, you will be flagged and in the future you will get banned (in AKAmrmikes opinion). in my opinion, powering drive with console wouldn't lead to a flag at all. if you powered the drive externally, no biggie either way. if you got flagged, then there is not much you can do either way. once flagged, be prepared for a/the ban wave. when it comes, who knows. you will find out soon enough when you want to log on to live.
     
  16. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That's because there hasn't been a ban yet, but if they are flagged they will be banned. Powering from the 360 isn't the best method. I would advise investing in an xtractor which are faily cheap since you will have to update 2-3 times a year. Powering the 360 doesn't result in a ban, it's the fact that there is no sata connected to the 360 that can flag the console, which is just yet another reason to use an xtractor. The xtractor is safer too.

    As for the above, if you sent an erase to the drive and don't have the keys, you're screwed. Did you get a dump (read) of the firmware? After you dump, then erase the FW, you can write to the drive.
     
  17. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Um, yes. Not in the last 3 months maybe
    You have contacted Microsoft and they told you that powering an Xbox 360 without a drive gets you flagged?
    I doubt that too, there are minimum two other reasons why the Xbox 360 would power on without a drive and if they would really flag and ban for that, there would have been atleast some legit players, who had been banned for that.
    Also I'd say the mayority of people on here have used the Xbox 360 as power source for flashing and some of them are still on XBL with their first box.
     

Share This Page