1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reformat DVR hard drive for PC use

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Vejeta77, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    jazzy, are you trying to use it for pc purposes & if yes then does it show in device management?
     
  2. jazzy15

    jazzy15 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sometimes it does, but it won't format, sky have done something to the hard drives, as I have 3 .1 works perfect, but the other 2 don't. So hdat2 must be the only way to take the settings off the hard drive.
     
  3. jazzy15

    jazzy15 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi can you help please. Thanks
     
  4. jazzy15

    jazzy15 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think the issue to the steps is the version of hdat2 as the new version doesn't have these options.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    does it show in disk management in control panel & did you delete the partition, make a new partition then format the drive?
     
  6. jazzy15

    jazzy15 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Doesn't really show in disk management, it did once but hangs, and become unresponsive.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    could then be the drive is dying,
     
  8. jazzy15

    jazzy15 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would try the hdat2 but I don't know the steps as the dco option is not there on the new version.
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check the site that you got the software from as it might have that info.
     
  10. jazzy15

    jazzy15 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi do you have the steps for the new version?
     
  11. Emrys

    Emrys Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This procedure didn't work for me exactly as written. I have a Seagate ST3500312CS that I removed from a DirectTV DVR. The drive was setup to start in idle so it would work inside the DVR. For some reason Partition Wizzard 8.1.1 was able to spin up this drive so after exiting partition wizard I followed your procedure to unlock the drive. I followed the following procedure:

    1. Boot computer from Partition Wizzard 8.1.1

    2. Select Direct TV Hard Drive

    3. Delete all partitions

    4. Create new partition and format the drive

    5. Exit Partition Wizard. Very Important, keep the computer on. Do not turn it off.

    6. Insert the HDAT2 Boot CD and re-boot the computer

    7. Select option 1 from the Win98 boot menu

    8. Select the correct drive and press <enter>

    9. Select “Drive Configuration Overlay (DCO)” from the menu

    10. Now Select “Restore” and press <enter>

    11. Answer Yes when prompted

    12. When finished hit the escape key to go back to the previous menu.

    13. Select the “Commands Menu”

    14. Select “Commands/Features Set”

    15. Select “Power Up in Standby (PUIS) and answer Yes when asked if you want to run.

    16. If all goes well PUIS should be disabled. The drive can now be used in a PC.
    Note: I deleted all partitions and then created a new NTFS partition. You may not have to do this. When partition wizard boots up it automatically retrieves information on all drives connected to the computer. At that point the drive may already have been spun up. I'm not sure of this because this drive is very quiet.

    If I had saved the DVR I could have activated the drive by turning on the DVR and then hot swapping the drive with my PC while keeping the DVR power supply connected.
     
  12. jazzy15

    jazzy15 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Select “Drive Configuration Overlay (DCO)” from the menu is not on hdat2 version I have.


    Hdat2 what version do you have?
     
  13. gva27v

    gva27v Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    I found that this can be done without the DVR power.
    1. Download and burn a cd of gpartd 0.4.1-2 or comparable version.
    2. Install the DVR HDD in your PC.
    3. Insert gpartd cd on power on. Let the pc error out, and boot from the cd.
    4. select option 1
    5. next screen select the second option to not load keyboard options
    6. it will ask you language info, then graphics info. Use option 1 for graphics info, then "enter" 3 times.
    7. once you are in the screen that shows hdd info, double click the red "X" in the top left corner, and select reboot. Once it starts to shutdown, the gpartd disc will eject, replace the disc with the hdat2 cd, and it should restart normal
    8. boot into the hdat 2 cd and follow wvtimberwolf's procedure from here, excluding the DVR box in the procedure.

    Worked like a charm.
     
  14. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does anyone know if it is possible to format a write protected hard rive?
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    who makes the hard drive?
     
  16. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its a Western Digital HD
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I presume the motherboard & windows sees the drive?
     
  18. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes they pick it up but look for a boot password to continue boot. I have a few Lenovo Laptops that have been decommissioned if I can't wipe the HD then I will have to purchase new ones.
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    have the drive connected to your desktop as a secondary drive so you can delete the partition, make a new partition then format it.
     
  20. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So if I connect drive via USB to a desktop will it see the drive so I can delete the partition even though its protected?
     

Share This Page