1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reformat DVR hard drive for PC use

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Vejeta77, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    would be better if you connect the drive to a sata port & it will see it in both cases.
     
  2. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok thanks allot that's worth trying. I'll get back to you with and let you know how I get on.
    Thanks allot for your advice, appreciate it.
    Pat
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem.
     
  4. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried installing the dive on a workstation via the SATA connection but as soon as I booted the workstation it looked for boot password for the second drive. So I don't think there is a way around this.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    was the workstation drive the 1st drive or 2nd drive?
     
  6. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The workstation drive was the first drive and the locked drive the second.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
  8. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    T0hanks for this information I will work away and hopefully get a result.
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem.
     
  10. rmd124

    rmd124 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've seen this problem before.... get yourself a hirens boot disk and boot it from CD or USB choose Linux based environment that will spin up DVR HDD and allow you to reformat to NTFS or whatever you like...... let me know if that works it worked for mine from a direct TV DVR box
     
  11. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have tried looking at it using Hirens boot via USB link, but could not see the drive which program do you use?
     
  12. rmd124

    rmd124 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When hirens boots up it says " Boot from hard drive, boot mini windows xp, start Linux based environment you want to choose the Linux based environment it's called parted magic/Gparted
     
  13. 4POD

    4POD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have started hirens in Linuux but don't have usb connection for drive on hand so will try later. Thanks a allot for your help I'll let you know how I get on.
     
  14. Mr. Grimes

    Mr. Grimes Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It worked for my HDD ST3500312CS
    Thank you a lot man.

    [​IMG]
     
    gva27v likes this.
  15. gva27v

    gva27v Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Glad to have helped.
     

Share This Page