1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Region 1+2 on the pioneer A03.......?

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by sunny3, Mar 2, 2002.

  1. sunny3

    sunny3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi... my Ao3 is in the post on the way!
    Could someone please tell if I can play region 1 + 2 disks on it....or is it down to the software that I use to play it?

    If it is the software...what software would I need to enable me to view region 1+2 disks?
    Thanks for any info...
    Sunny.
     
  2. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Nope, A03 seems to be RPC2 without possibility to "downgrade" the firmware to RPC1. Just to clarify:

    RPC2 = region locked drive, you can normally change region 5 times and after that the region becomes permanent and _can't_ be changed anymore.

    RPC1 = regionfree drive, it has normally region restrictions as well, but there's no 5 change limit.

    So, you just need to pick which region you're going to use or buy old DVD-ROM with RPC1 firmware for reading DVDs.
     
  3. sunny3

    sunny3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the info...most of my disks are pal(r.2) but I would like to back up some of my r.1 films...
    would I still be able to make a back ups of r.1...without being able to play them on my p.c?

    (so I could view them on my stand alone player)
    Cheers.
     
  4. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Nope. You need to buy another DVD-ROM drive for your PC to read R1 discs if you set your A03 to R2 -- but cheap DVD-ROM drives cost like $30 or so.
     
  5. sunny3

    sunny3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Would I have to Modify the additional dvd rom drive(ie,modchip..hack...etc).
    Or would it be set to region 1 after 5 veiws?

    Or could I get a multiregion dvdrom...??

    Thanks.
     
  6. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
  7. sunny3

    sunny3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I checked that site out and they claim to have a firmware upgrade that makes the a03 RPC1...Then to use dvd genie (what is this?)have you heard of anyone who's had success with this upgrade...?
    If an incorrect firmware is applied can a correct one be applied over it?
    And silly question but where is the link to your dvd-dvdr guide dRD?
    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2002

Share This Page