1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Region codes

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by jellyink, Dec 20, 2004.

  1. jellyink

    jellyink Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey.

    I live in Australia and currently in the US on a vacation. I want to purchase some dvds here that aren't availiable in Australia. Can the program AnyDVD be used to get rid of the DVD code on the disk so I can play these US dvds back in Australia?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. Adder01

    Adder01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can get rid of region coding with various programs...but remember it will still be in NTSC format!!

    Adder.
     
  3. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I order DVD's through Amazon in America and as you know they are all coded for that region.
    I too live in Australia so of course our region code is different.
    I use a program call DVDRegionFree+CSS which fools your DVDROM/Burner into thinking it is a region free player.
    The great thing as well with this program is that when you wish to burn a coded DVD it makes the copy region free.......it really is great.
    It just comes on unnoticed when you insert a dvd to play and off you go, watch any DVD from anywhere in the world.
     
  4. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I noticed you have posted the same question in DVD-R for Newbies section.
    I was recently informed that this was a no no on this site.
     
  5. DogBomb

    DogBomb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If your DVD player is listed here, you're in luck. Enter a code on your remote and make your player region-free.
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.php?

    There are tons of region-free DVD players (usually the cheaper ones) out of Asia, so you can always grab one of those. Or just use Decrypter or Shrink to take off the region restrictions and burn it onto a DVD blank.
     
  6. SurfDude

    SurfDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  7. pieman

    pieman Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what dvd player is it? www.dvdchips.co.uk are about the best for advice and remote/disc mods.Shame you are down under!!
     
  8. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I live in UK, region 2, & regularly import from the states, region 1. I use AnyDvd to over come region lockout & encryption etc & they all play a treat. But as adder01 says it will still be in NTSC format, so you have to have a TV (not transvestite) that is NTSC capable. Otherwise it will be in black & white & look crap! I tried DVDRegionFree+CSS, but I preferred Slysofts' anydvd. You have to get what is best for you!
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2004
  9. zeebra

    zeebra Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeahh, videohelp.com does work and has tons of dvd players there. I managed to get 3 of my dvd players going.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2004

Share This Page