1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Region Override, HELP

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by assram, Jul 26, 2007.

  1. assram

    assram Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, I just installed my wiikey on my NTSC wii

    Put in Setup disk..
    No problem loading it..

    went into settings,
    turned ON region override..
    Save settings..

    did a reset..

    Now it doesn't load backup..
    doesn't load setup disk..

    it plays originals perfectly fine..

    Any advise?? I think I should turn off region override, but I can't even load up disk..

    I tried burning a PAL disk, doesn't work..
     
  2. WrathoPs2

    WrathoPs2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try to run freeloader to boot the setup disc. Freeloader is region free so thats what id id when i accidently set my region to jap ntsc instead of ntsc u.
     
  3. WrathoPs2

    WrathoPs2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try to run freeloader to boot the setup disc. Freeloader is region free so thats what id id when i accidently set my region to jap ntsc instead of ntsc u.
     
  4. Wilton331

    Wilton331 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is freeloader out for wii? If so whats the link?
     
  5. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Region override has nothing to do with changing the region of the Wii itself. It just bypasses the region codes and lets you play out of region games.

    So downloading freeloader will not help your situation at all.

    This is the first time I have ever heard of someone having this issue. But the only possibility I can see is if you have a bad install and a soldering joint has become disconnected.

    I would open the Wii up and make sure all the soldering joints look correct.

    Could also be a Modchip malfunction as well.

    Are you sure you used the BootableDisc_US.bat file to create the correct set up disc. I have no idea what would happen if you used the wrong region bat file.

    I would also try the recovery mode on the Wiikey. But I have looked and can't find any information on how to use the recovery mode on the Wiikey. I did a recovery mode search and all I get is hits saying it has recovery mode but no link has expalined how to use it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2007
  6. WrathoPs2

    WrathoPs2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    this is how i understand his problem
    he accidently change region on hismodchip to something other than his origional or like openwii the bios just messed up.

    to fix that since setup discs are run in gc mode i used freeloader to load up the setup disc. But since he can't play burnt games who knows.... I couldn't play anything. But thats just how i understand it.
     
  7. assram

    assram Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I fixed the problem..

    It was because of my DVD media type..

    I was using Memorex DVD-R.. Somewhere, someone said that media doesn't matter.

    I switched to the recommended Verbatim DVD-R and everything works fine..
    reburned setup disc and backup games.

    thanks AD.
     

Share This Page