1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Removing/changing Region Settings

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Rhaezor, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How does one remove or change regional settings? I have all the VIDEO_TS files copied to my harddrive already.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You can use Shrink 3.2, after you hit backup a window will pop up, choose DVD Region, then check Region free.:>)
     
  3. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks :) I will give that a try
     
  4. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Your welcome :>)
     
  5. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, I open DVDShrink 3.2. I'm assuming the next step is click "Open Files" (i already have the plain VIDEO_TS files on my HD) I click the Video_TS dir and then click OK.

    DVD Shrink encountered an error and cannot continue.

    Invalid data in file "D:\blah\blah\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_1.VOB"

    What am I doing wrong heh
     
  6. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There seems to be something wrong with your DL'd files, have you tried playing them in or with anything else?

    Also, Did these come from the net or a DVD?
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG][bold]GO VOLS![/bold].Dell Media4600,XP,Pentium 4 @2.80GHz/800Mz,1024MB,280HDw/8MB,17"flat panel,AIO-A920,8xDVD-ROM,integrated5.1 audio,HPdc4000,PlextorPX-708UF,LiteOn832S-DL[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2004
  7. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I played them on two different comps. (both with powerdvd..) They came from the in-tar-net :)
     
  8. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is that process right, though? Open DVD shrink, click Open files, browse to the video_ts directory, select that to open, then click backup?
     
  9. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The files will have to be converted to DVD compliant files before shrink can handle them.
     
  10. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes, that will work as long as it doesn't need any editing or re-authoring to lower compression on the movie.
     
  11. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DVD compliant eh? I thought they were :/ It's all the .vob files and such..
     
  12. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hmmm...yes VOB does denote DVD compliant files, I over looked that, sorry. have you tried Nero? If you don't have it you can DL it(nero ultra 6) each and every month for the full month for free til you decide to buy(which i highly recommend).

     
  13. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well what started this whole thing is that I burned the VIDEO_TS files onto a dvd using Nero6. I put it in my Sony dvd player and it says "This dvd cannot be played before of regional limits.:

    I heard you can remove the regional limits with dvd shrink, so I tried that, but it says theres an error in VTS_01_1.VOB

    Hmm.... dvd's in the US are supposed to be NTSC or whatever right, not PAL?

    In VTS_01_0.IFO it says
    Menu attributes
    Video: MPEG-2 720X576 (PAL) (PAL 625/50)

    Then below that

    Title Set (movie) attributes
    Video: MPEG-2 720X576 (PAL) (PAL 625/50)
    Audio 1: English (Dolby AC-3)



    Could the dvd player regional errors be from it being PAL? It plays fine on my computer and laptop, but not stand alone dvd player.

     
  14. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Also, when I load either of the 2 .IFO files in Ifoedit, and click "Region Free", it says "No RCE checking found in this IFO"
     
  15. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  16. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    [bold]Could the dvd player regional errors be from it being PAL?[/bold]

    YES, definitely.
     
  17. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, I realized I was marked "newbie" after I had already posted in the advanced, I thought it would get locked :)
     
  18. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Darn, so there's no way to play the dvd in my dvd player then, if it's PAL? Do I even want to ask how difficult, or even possible, to convert from PAL to NTSC? Heh
     
  19. bigorange

    bigorange Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No, all the methods listed above will convert PAL to NTSC, and there are others. Your problem lies in the bad VTS_01_1 file so I don't know if others will help either....

    Have you tried using all but that file or is it part of the movie?

    Also some DVD players have a switch that will enable you to play PAL or NTSC, have you checked to see if yours does?

     
  20. Rhaezor

    Rhaezor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have TMPGEnc 3.0 xpress, and tried to convert them the .vob files to NTSC, but just one of the vob files was going to take 2 and a half hours. :/ That would take a long time, and I don't really even know what I'm doing with that program.

    I tried it twice, and both times it appeared to be converting the .vob file to an .mpg lol :(
     

Share This Page