1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rename your Xbox?

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by malize, Aug 15, 2004.

  1. malize

    malize Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey there,
    Im new to Afterdawn, but i have been getting my questions answered in your forums for some time now. I just wanted to know if I could change the name of my Xbox from "The Big L" to another name of my choice. No big deal, just wondering. Answer greatly appreciated. -Ryan-
     
  2. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can change your name of your xbox and there are a few ways. If you have a modchip then you can use winhex, this is what you have to do:

    1)Connect to your xbox with a ftp client like FlashFXP.

    2)Locate a file called "NICKNAME.XBN" in your E:\UDATA folder. Transfer it to your pc.

    3)Open Winhex and click & open the "NICKNAME.XBN" file that you transfered to your computer.


    4)You should now see a bunch of numbers and at the right, some of their values. At the top should be your xbox's name.


    5)Now you can change it to whatever you want.
    You have to keep the SM letters in front of your xbox's name, and you have periods (".") between each of the letters.


    6) Once you are done save it, upload it back to your xbox and press yes when it promts you to overwrite your old file.

    Now you dont have to play with a crap name.

    You can also do it with a couple of games eg dead or alive 3.
    Go into survival mode and choose a name you like(this will be the name of the xbox aswell), now you have to complete it on survival mode and your xbox will be renamed to what you were called.

    Not sure if it works as i havent tried it this way.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Xbox v1.0, X-ecuter2 lite,EVO-X DASHBOARD,
    ps2 v4, magic 3.1

    BARTON 3200+,wInDoWs XP(sp1),
    asus A7V600-X ,120GB HDD,
    256DDR ,pioneer 106D,16x dvd,
    Radeon 9600xt.[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2004
  3. malize

    malize Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thankz.
     
  4. punqewe

    punqewe Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  5. punqewe

    punqewe Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ps right click and save the file....if you just click it it will bring you to the main page.
     
  6. malize

    malize Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey, this message pops up and doesnt let me run the program when i click on it.
     

Share This Page