1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Replacing extras with still image error

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by GIJohn, Oct 6, 2004.

  1. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I decided to get rid of the extras by replacing them with a still image from my HD. It works ok but one annoying error that I am getting is that it shows the still image at weird places. Like as soon as I play my movie from the menu, the still image pops up and freezes for a few seconds and then the movie starts.

    The worst example of this is when I first load the dvd and the player loads it the first time. After the FBI warnings and stuff the still image that is supposed to be in the extras pops up and the entire dvd freezes up! Its not a big deal because I just hit the disc menu button and the menu does load, but this is just downright annoying.

    Anyone else had this problem and if anyone could help I'd appreciate it!!
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Hi there GIJohn,

    Have you tried to use the still picture option and does it "POP" up at weird intervals also ?

    I'll point ddlooping toward your thread and see what he has to offer -

    Pete
     
  3. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, like I said before it will pop up even before the main menu has loaded the first time and then freeze up and get stuck on that image! I can just hit the dvd menu button the remote and it does load the menu, but its annoying to do that everytime. I am doing this back up for a friend and I don't want them to have to hit the menu button everytime too.
     
  4. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    I've already read what you posted, I asked if you've tried it with still pictures ?

    Please let me know -

     
  5. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thats what im saying, im using a still image from my hard drive.
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    There are two options in Shrink - a still image and a still picture.

    Whichever one you're using have you tried the other?
     
  7. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Im using still images, I don't really want to use the still pictures option since it just takes frames from the extra videos themselves. I have a cool image that I want to use and so if I can resolve this error it would be great.
     
  8. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    GIJohn,

    I'm getting tired but I'm going to try just one more time in English -

    Have you tried it using a still P-I-C-T-U-R-E-S ? ?

    PLEASE, take the time to read and see if you can figure out the difference between a P-I-C-T-U-R-E and an I-M-A-G-E -

    Thank you -

     
  9. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    When I can get ddlooping, I'll send'em over -

    "P"
     
  10. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No I understand what you said, I have used the still p-i-c-t-u-r-e-s option, but is not what I need to use, I want to use my own picture not a freeze frame from the extras.

    You don't have to patronize me, if you read the last post I made all the way through I say that I [bold]DO[/bold] know the difference between the two and tried the other. I know what happens and its not what I need it to do. I was also responding to nephillium's question as well by saying which option I was using.

    Thanks
     
  11. ddlooping

    ddlooping Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi all. :)

    GIJohn, the "Still Image" clips are displayed for the duration of the titles they replace.
    This could explain why you perceive them as "freezing".

    The way DVD Shrink organizes titles in different folders is done by size, and purely as a visual aid:
    - menu titles in the "Menus" folder.
    - biggest title(s) in the "Main Movie" folder.
    - smaller title(s) in the "Extras" folder.
    It does in no way reflect the original DVD structure or playback order.
    So if you replace the whole "Extras" folder by "Still Image", you might end-up replacing titles that are played before the menus.
    One fairly common example are movie previews on some Disney DVDs.

    So it looks to me what you're experiencing is simply some of DVD Shrink limitations, and not a bug or problem of some sort. ;)

    P.S: if you're going to replace all the extras by still images, you might as well do a movie-only backup, using DVD Shrink Re-author mode.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    For DVD Shrink and related softwares guides and information, please visit http://www.dvdshrink.info[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2004
  12. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks ddlooping! I opened up the folder with all of the extras that I want to become my still image. Sure enough there was one little snippet of an fbi warning that is supposed to be at the very beginning that was being turned into an image which then locked the whole dvd up.

    Thanks for pointing out that the extras folder has not just extras in it. I'll just go through the extras manually next time and make sure everything is in order.

    Im not too big on re-authoring unless I have to. I like being able to keep the menus, it seems more like an authentic dvd that way. I have a pretty sweet looking jolly roger that I put in place of the extras which is why I'm so dead-set in using the still image option.

    Thanks Again!
     
  13. ddlooping

    ddlooping Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You're welcome. :)

    Let us know how you get along. ;)
     
  14. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Thank you my friend -

    Glad you could stop by


     
  15. ddlooping

    ddlooping Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No problem, Pete. :)
     

Share This Page