1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

REQUIRED HARD DISK SPACE FOR DVD BURNING?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by deeswift, Dec 7, 2003.

1. deeswift

deeswift Member

Hello all... seeing as this is my first post here, I hope I put it in the right section..

Basically, a friend of mine needs some help. He just posted the message below at my forum but I can't really help him because I'm new to DVD burning myself:

"I've finally decided to bite the bullet and pick up a Pioneer 106 from SVP communications - http://www.blankdiscshop.co.uk - but the thing I'm not sure about is the amount of hard disc space I need for burning DVDs.

I have read that the minimum req'd HD space is 10GBs, and the recommended amount is 20GBs. I also read in a forum where someone had 7gigs free (like me), but was having problems with BSOD when burning DVDs. Someone replied to him, saying that 7 gigs wasn't enough for burning DVDs...

So whats this all about then? Do I need to front for a new HD as well then? Cos that was the whole idea of me getting a DVD burner in the first place - to back up all my movies and MP3s and streamline my HD."

Can any of you knowledgable heads help on us out on this one? Thanks in advance!

:)

2. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

H deeswift, To safely backup a dvd movie, you need a minimum of 10 gig free HD space. The reason is some dvd movies are close to 9 gig (called dvd 9).