1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Resizing/cropping MPEG video

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by kidavid, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. kidavid

    kidavid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I recorded a live event into my Panny T6070 DVD recorder, which I then edited (after ripping/demuxing with DVD Decrypter) using TMPGEnc MPEG Editor. The recorder creates MPEG video files at a 704x480 resolution. MPEG Editor handles these just fine. However, I also wanted to include a few clips that I encoded on my PC using ProCoder~ these come out at 720x480. As such, MPEG Editor would not let me include these in the project, apparently because it won't mix resolutions. Should I crop the 720 source, or pad the 704 source... and how would I go about doing either (w/o having to convert the MPEG to AVI or otherwise)?
     
  2. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Don't crop or pad, just re-encode the shortest of the two, to the resolution you need.
     
  3. kidavid

    kidavid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ProCoder will only let me output at 720x480. I see the potential of doing this a lot, so I may have to explore other software encoders that permit different resolutions.
     
  4. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Procoder will put out whatever you tell it.
    Just don't use the NTSC template. Look for Custom.
    Don't use the wizard, enter things manually.
     
  5. kidavid

    kidavid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks, rebootjim. That worked perfectly. For some reason, I had to reverse the interlacing (I guess my recorder records top field first?)... but beyond that, it imports perfectly into MPEG Editor. Many thanks...
     
  6. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You're quite welcome :)
    Don'tcha just love Procoder?
     
  7. kidavid

    kidavid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    YES. Even the Express version I have rocks. You just opened up all kinds of new possibilities for me!
     

Share This Page